SAVE AS PDF

Previous topic - Next topic

grahamgould.org.uk

When I print my project from Scribus  all works fine.
When I save as a PDF, THEN PRINT, SOME OF THE TEXT CHANGES FONT AND PRINT GOES FAINT.
CAN YOU PLEASE HELP

Nermander

Do you embed fonts in the PDF?

Du you export "for printer" or "for screen/web"?

"For printer" means CMYK PDK, "for screen/web" means RGB PDF. Usually you should NOT use "for printer" if you are going to print on a regular printing.

So, my advice is:

1. Make sure all fonts are embedded
2. Export to PDF for screen/web

If that does not help, we need more information.

grahamgould.org.uk

Many thanks to your reply, I did check the settings and they were as you said. But I have redone my project and changed the fonts and all is ok. I am new to DTP and your help was of a great help. All I have to do is get a pdf file to print a custom size paper size and I would be happy.
But HP say it not the printer that controls the size output but Adobe. I have just download Adobe XI pro and it still does not work. Trying to solve some of these problems you just go round in circles.
Once again thank you
Graham

Meho R.

A tip: when printing from Adobe Reader, pay attention to "Scaling" option in the Print dialog. If you want your document to be printed in "real" dimensions instead of being smaller/larger than intended, set scaling to "None".

Nermander

It turns out the problem here seems to be that his printer does not support setting a "custom" paper size, and if the printer is set to A4 paper size Adobe Reader (and Acrobat?) will print the page centered on the A4 page (not at the edge).

In earlier versions of Adobe Reader there is a checkbox for "Auto rotate and center", but that checkbox seems to have been removed in Reader X (maybe even 9, I only know it's present in Reader 7 and Reader 8). I only have access to Reader 7, 8 and X, and Acrobat 7.

toyotadesigner