Author Topic: Changing Scribus versions  (Read 1766 times)

bigal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Changing Scribus versions
« on: July 08, 2012, 02:22:03 pm »
Just  quick question. If I change my Scribus version should I delete the previously installed one and install the new version - which of course means re entering all my personal settings, or is there a way of updating from the my original?

Alan
Absolute space exits no longer; there is only space relative to a certain initial position of the body. (Henri Poncaire. 1854-1912)

GarryP

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1600
  • Karma: 25
  • Scribus User
Re: Changing Scribus versions
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2012, 11:39:04 pm »
Alan, if you're using a Mac then you can just drop the new version of Scribus over the existing version and all of your settings should still be there (that's worked fine for me in the past).
I'm afraid I don't know about what happens on Windows or Linux but I'm sure someone else should know.

bigal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Changing Scribus versions
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2012, 11:44:20 pm »
Thanks for that GarryP. I should have said I am running on an XP Pro SP3 machine. I'll keep my fingers crossed someone else may have some knowledge of this. It is just that I read that once a user gets used to the program he/she should use the nightly builds rather than the so called stable version..

Cheers

Alan
Absolute space exits no longer; there is only space relative to a certain initial position of the body. (Henri Poncaire. 1854-1912)

Nermander

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1218
  • Karma: 15
Re: Changing Scribus versions
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2012, 10:26:02 am »
No, don't use the nightly builds, the could suddenly introduce a bug making them unusable.

Use the stable version as long as you don't need the features only present in the development version. And in that case always use the development version on a copy of the document (the development version might damage the document due to a bug).

Before the release of 1.4 the situation was a bit different, becuase the new stable version took very long to be finished. So when the stable version was 1.3.3.13 most people recommended using the "unstable" 1.3.5 instead.

bigal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Changing Scribus versions
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2012, 11:43:12 am »
Thank you for the clarification Nermander. The suggestion I read must have been referring to the previous version(s). I'll stick with what I've got for now. v1.4.1. There still remains the question though. When a new stable version is released will there be a method of updating  the current one or should it be a fresh install with all the attendant re-entering of personal settings. Assuming of course, that I can remember them all.
Absolute space exits no longer; there is only space relative to a certain initial position of the body. (Henri Poncaire. 1854-1912)

Nermander

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1218
  • Karma: 15
Re: Changing Scribus versions
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2012, 01:14:46 pm »
It's been a while since I upgraded, but I think upgrading keeps all settings, it just overwrites the old version.

There used to be an exception: scribus-ng. That was a package of the "unstable" version and it was intended to be able to be installed in parallel with the scribus package. Not sure though it that worked on Windows or OS X.

bigal

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Changing Scribus versions
« Reply #6 on: July 09, 2012, 01:30:04 pm »
I think I might have got mixed up between the nightly builds and the development versions of Scribus. Thank you for the clarification. Looking at the Linux world, I run a CentOS email server, I would expect a point or minor version change to be capable of updating the users original settings. I would be hesitant of trying to update a major version automatically although I know that in the Ubuntu and Mint worlds they say it can be done. The question arose as originally I had installed v1.3.3.13 then found v1.4.1. As I was new to the program the separate installation did not matter but it made me wonder.

When I re-read my original question I realize that I was referring to small updates, I just failed to say so clearly.

Thank you for putting up with me.

Cheers

Alan
Absolute space exits no longer; there is only space relative to a certain initial position of the body. (Henri Poncaire. 1854-1912)

 

palmate