Scribusoid

Author Topic: snap issue  (Read 2726 times)

lars_

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • www.larsbylund.com
snap issue
« on: April 14, 2012, 03:15:26 pm »
Hey.

I have a really big problem, or scribus has, with snapping to horizontal guides.

if i try to snap something to
10 mm it snaps to 9.647 mm
3 mm 2.647 mm

so it's of by 0.353 mm, all the time.

snapping to vertical guides workes fine.

I'm using Scribus 1.4.0

utnik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1289
  • Karma: 14
Re: snap issue
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2012, 09:04:04 pm »
hi lars

this 0.353 mm is 1/72 inch or 1 pica point – it looks as a setting to adjust the layout to a pica grid…
did you check the option: 'page' → 'snap to grid'?

utnik

lars_

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • www.larsbylund.com
Re: snap issue
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2012, 09:29:03 pm »
no, snap to grid is off (, also, as I wrote, this only affects the horizontal guide.)
I have reported this as a bug
http://bugs.scribus.net/view.php?id=10677
« Last Edit: April 14, 2012, 09:32:14 pm by lars_ »

utnik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1289
  • Karma: 14
Re: snap issue
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2012, 10:02:16 pm »
hi lars

could you upload a sample file? (here or on the bug tracker…)
the good thing with scribus is, that all this settings are stored in the sla file in a reeadable way.

utnik

lars_

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • www.larsbylund.com
Re: snap issue
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2012, 11:00:17 pm »
yes Utnik, here it is.(attached) (edit: it can also be found in the bug report at: http://bugs.scribus.net/view.php?id=10677)

Can you reproduce it by

setting a horizontal guide

draw a line

snap the line to the guide?

thanks for helping out.

Lars
« Last Edit: April 14, 2012, 11:23:43 pm by lars_ »

utnik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1289
  • Karma: 14
Re: snap issue
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2012, 01:47:37 am »
hi lars

thanks for the file – couldn't find out what causes the effect, but something strange (at least to me) in the 'properties' window.
i added a note and a screenshot to your bug report…

utnik

lars_

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
    • www.larsbylund.com
Re: snap issue
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2012, 01:55:25 pm »
as I said on the bug report, thank you Utnik!
this clearly must be the problem.

I dont  see how a desktop publishing program can have this bug, and that no one notices it, it's a function that you use a lot.

this is clearly out of line  ;)

 

palmate