Scribusoid

Author Topic: Printing text frames  (Read 1916 times)

Respen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Printing text frames
« on: February 17, 2012, 10:06:45 am »
Hello, I'm completely new to scribus but i think it's a wonderful tool.
I'm trying to create a medium-complex book with text, images, tables, graphs etc and I encountered a problem.

When trying to print the pages I realized so far, the text frames don't get printed, whereas images do get printed.
I even created a new document, copy-pasting the text frames from the original document, and in the new document the text frames get printed... O_o

I just can't understand why in my original book i cannot print the text frames.

Can someone help me please?

utnik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1291
  • Karma: 14
Re: Printing text frames
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2012, 10:19:14 am »
…Can someone help me please?
perhaps – if you show me your .sla file…

Respen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Printing text frames
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2012, 10:49:11 am »
I tried to attach the file but it is too big.
If I cancel the images to make it smaller, the text frames unexpectedly get printed...

Nermander

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1296
  • Karma: 17
Re: Printing text frames
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2012, 10:59:50 am »
How are you printing?

Did you try to create a PDF? Did the text show up in the PDF? Did you try to print the PDF?

My first guess is that it is a memory issue with the printer.

Respen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Printing text frames
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2012, 11:41:55 am »
It works now.

It seems it was a problem with the images, but i don't know what kind of problem.

I simply cancelled all the images and then pasted them in the doc again, and now it works!

Thanks for your help anyway. I'll keep you informed if I have other issues like this.

utnik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1291
  • Karma: 14
Re: Printing text frames
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2012, 09:31:52 pm »
hi respen

if your .sla file is big because of the images, you'r definitively doing something wrong.
you should import the images into image frames, not by 'copy' and 'paste'!