Scribusoid

Author Topic: Adding bleed  (Read 420 times)

nuthnbutnet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Adding bleed
« on: March 12, 2019, 03:38:12 pm »
I created a set of brochures/documents and forgot to account for bleed. Is there a setting that automatically increases the page size and adds crop marks for the printer or do I have to do it manually?

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2121
  • Karma: 27
    • the graphics lab
Re: Adding bleed
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2019, 06:38:52 pm »
normally, one is supposed to setup the bleeds at the beginning of the project...

for existing documents, you can set the bleed in file > document settings > document (the default section) and look for the "bleeds" tab.

but you'll probably have to resize all the affected images after that...

nuthnbutnet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Adding bleed
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2019, 09:14:59 pm »
I'm thinking of starting over again. Is there a recommended bleed setting, as far as measurement?

mnawij

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 263
  • Karma: 2
  • Scribus User
Re: Adding bleed
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2019, 11:55:45 pm »
In the U.S. standard bleed is .125" (1/8") beyond the document size.

Cheers!

mnawij

nuthnbutnet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Adding bleed
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2019, 01:43:23 pm »
Thank you, everyone.