Author Topic: Maximum "weight" of a Scribus file ?  (Read 1702 times)

pierruel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Maximum "weight" of a Scribus file ?
« on: December 14, 2018, 10:04:09 am »
Good morning everybody,
I'm editing a music score and (for technical reasons) my contents are on .jpg format. Each A4 page = one jpg file. Since today the "import image" feature doesn't work correctly: jpg files I want to import seem empty. I checked them with my picture editing software and they are all right. Does it happen because there are too much pictures in my score ?
Thank you for any help.
regards
Pierre

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1993
  • Karma: 26
    • the graphics lab
Re: Maximum "weight" of a Scribus file ?
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2018, 11:03:00 am »
you're probably seeing the top left corner of the image...

- open the "window > properties" palette
- scale the content to the frame



you can change the preferences (for future documents) and the document settings (for the current document) to get the new image to automatically scale. it's in the "tools > image frame" section.

btw, you probably know that jpg is a bad format for content with sharp contours...

pierruel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Maximum "weight" of a Scribus file ?
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2018, 12:35:39 pm »
Thank you a.l.e.,
My post wasn't clear enough, sorry: when I'm in the "import a picture" window, if I select a picture, a thumbnail of the selected picture normally appears in the small window on the right. In my case there is no thumbnail appearing, although the concerned picture exists (and occupies btw the whole space of the A4 format minus margins).
I wasn't aware about the picture's format: which one would be the best (unfortunately I imported already more than 100 pages/pictures ! Is it possible to convert them to another format inside Scribus or should I convert them in a picture editing software ?)
Thank you in advance
regards
Pierre

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1993
  • Karma: 26
    • the graphics lab
Re: Maximum "weight" of a Scribus file ?
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2018, 03:15:15 pm »
salü pierre

so, you don't get the preview when clicking on the image?
but can you load them in an image frame?
if it does not load in an image frame, can you upload one of those images so that we can test it?
if it does load, and your problem is that it's harder to see which image you're importing, you might be able to drag and drop your images directly from a file manager or picture browsers (depending on your setup it will work or not).

finally, converting the existing images to a different format won't help.
you would have to regenerate the images from the original software...
next time, try to export to png or tif instead of jpg...

pierruel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Maximum "weight" of a Scribus file ?
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2018, 03:47:11 pm »
Hi a.l.e.
Thank you for answering.
I don't get the preview (I get a structured background) and if I click on it I get a blank (empty) image in my image frame. But the most funny (peculiar of course !) is that I imported successfully 135 pictures before the problem occured. The weight of the .sla file is 346 Ko, the reason why I asked about a maximum weight permitted.
The images are produced by my music notation software, which can export under .jpg, .bmp and .png formats, the best one beeing .png if I understand well.
What dragging from a picture browser is concerned, can I use Picasa to do it ?
Is it foreseeable that the same issue would appear (or not) if loading 135 and more pictures in .png format into my .sla file ?
Thank you for your patience !
Regards
Pierre
P.S. The weight of my pictures with the .jpg format is between 700 and 1100 Ko each but I see that their weight is not added to the one of the .sla file, isn't it ?

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1993
  • Karma: 26
    • the graphics lab
Re: Maximum "weight" of a Scribus file ?
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2018, 06:13:18 pm »
eh eh... i think that you need to learn a few more things about images and layout...

the main difference between png and jpg is that jpg changes your image when saving it. it has been created for photos...

also, scribus does not (by default) include the images in the .sla. it just links to them. so, don't try to move the .sla or the images after you have linked them (if you want to move your project you need to use the "file > collect for output" tool).

finally, if you have an issue with a specific image (and if the image does not contain "huge" secrets, you might want to upload it here, so that we can have a look at it...

pierruel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Maximum "weight" of a Scribus file ?
« Reply #6 on: December 15, 2018, 12:12:35 am »
Of course I've to learn more about pictures, especially when they are numerized, but I think that the problem is elsewhere.
Please look what I wrote: I'm working on a music score where 1 page A4 = 1 picture. On a very  plain logical level, why was I able to import without any difficulty 135 pictures and not the 136th ? There is no matter of pictures' format nore display. Something works very well for 135 pages and then stops working for the 136th, who can explain ?
I would be very grateful for an explanation.
Regards
Pierre

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1993
  • Karma: 26
    • the graphics lab
Re: Maximum "weight" of a Scribus file ?
« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2018, 09:19:46 am »
i don't see any reason why you should not be able to load a 136th image if the 135 before that were ok.

when there is a memory (size) problem, scribus normally lets you do what you wanted to do and then fails on opening the file next time you try to open it.

can you load the image number 136 in a new scribus file with no images in there yet?
if you cannot do so, then it's that specific image that is at fault.

please remember, that we don't see what is on your monitor and we don't know what you already have tried.
except if you tell us...

pierruel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Maximum "weight" of a Scribus file ?
« Reply #8 on: December 17, 2018, 01:03:54 am »
All right a.l.e. it's not easy to figure things without seeing anything. I just hesitate to attach too many screenshots.
First of all I don't see any reason either and I hope to understand what happens with the help of the forum.
I did as you wrote: created a new file called test_img.sla and tried to load the pictures which failed to load in my score. What a surprise: I was able to load 3 of them, including the one who refused to load into my real file and then I was stuck again (that test file has 10 pages of which 3 contain a picture). The attached shot "7_img" shows a display of my picture editing software with a series of pictures including the last one I was able to load and the following ones: all contain staves and notes but if I insist importing them I get empty images.
My Scribus is slow to open but it opens itself each time. Already the preview is empty, as shown on a second screenshot.
My demonstration is not perfect because it doesn't show what happens with one same and specific image, sorry; it's because there are no numbers on the images and the bar nombers are much too tiny to be seen. I'll try and make a more accurate test but it takes more time.
Hope the above will be helpful.
Thank you very much.
Regards
Pierre


a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1993
  • Karma: 26
    • the graphics lab
Re: Maximum "weight" of a Scribus file ?
« Reply #9 on: December 17, 2018, 09:32:43 am »
so, you have a lot of jpg files and want to create one pdf out of it?

just that?

one the one side, there might be easier ways to do it (at least if you know how to write a script : - ).
scribus is not a bad tool for that (you can even automate the task by writing a script: not that i imply that you should do that) but, indeed, you might get a memory problem with all those big images.

from the screenshots, you seem to be on windows... and you could try to select all the jpg files in the file manager, in the context pick the "print" command and choose "to pdf" as the printer. i have no idea how good the result is... but it might be worth a try : - )

for linux i'm pretty sure that in 15 minutes i should be able to write a script for you that creates the pdf...

anyway:

- you have rather big images
- with some images you can load lot of images in one file, with other ones just 3...
- the same image works in one file but not in the other.

are the assertions above correct?

if yes, it would be good if you could give access to all your images (privately share a zip file with all the images and the .sla through framadrop or dropbox)... in the worst case you get a pdf with the job done... in the best case a solution for your issue...

pierruel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Maximum "weight" of a Scribus file ?
« Reply #10 on: December 17, 2018, 11:33:10 am »
Good morning, a.l.e.
I'm not sure I understand everything you wrote. English isn't my mothertongue.
What I want is simply to have a score of a musical piece I've composed.
The way I choosed is to edit a brochure with Scribus, but Scribus doesn't know how to write a musical text; I must export the musical text out of my music notation software in a picture's format; I did it on .jpg format but it's not the better way, you said, and I'll change for png, and then import the .png into Scribus. And then export to .pdf for printing.
But the point is that I did it already once with a former version of my musical piece. I've on my desk a brochure of 154 pages which is the first version and I encountered no problem when editing it.
I have a lot of .jpg files but I don't want just to create pdfs out of them, I want to publish a score in the form of a A4 brochure.
I could print all my .jpg to pdf but I want to have my stuff printed in a print-shop where they have high quality numeric printers with far better results than with my desktop printer. And they'll make a handsome brochure of my pages.
Your three assertions are correct and I'll look how I can make a zip file from my pictures (I never had to do that in 30 years computing but I'll learn ;-) )
I'll be back soon.
Best regards
Pierre

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1993
  • Karma: 26
    • the graphics lab
Re: Maximum "weight" of a Scribus file ?
« Reply #11 on: December 17, 2018, 12:03:12 pm »
if all you have is a lot of jpg and you want create a pdf that contains all jpg, one per page, scribus won't improve the quality the result.

all you have are lot of jpgs in a pdf at their original quality.

using png or tiff is normally a better choice, but jpg at 100% quality (or close to it) are not that bad, as long as you never edit them.

for creating a .zip file, open your file manager, right click on the directory where your .sla and .jpg are and choose "compress". this will create a zip with all the contents of the directory.

pierruel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Maximum "weight" of a Scribus file ?
« Reply #12 on: December 17, 2018, 12:19:33 pm »
Thank you a.l.e.,
Tell me if I understand well: you mean that I've to convert my about 150 jgp to about 150 pdf and have them printed. The problem is that at my print shop they charge 8 CHF (about 6 to 7 euros) for opening one pdf file from a usb key. So I'll have to pay about 900 euros before they begin to print anything ! My 150 pictures must be in the same and unique pdf file. Perhaps in something else than a .sla file exported to pdf but I know no other solution and I worked with Scribus successfully for years, even on a 150 pages musical score as I said. How do you say "aporie" in English ?
Best regards
Pierre

utnik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1291
  • Karma: 14
Re: Maximum "weight" of a Scribus file ?
« Reply #13 on: December 17, 2018, 01:28:02 pm »
hi pierre

…My 150 pictures must be in the same and unique pdf file.

for this i would use pdfsam – at least if you already have .pdf files.

what export formats are possible with your source program?

utnik

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1993
  • Karma: 26
    • the graphics lab
Re: Maximum "weight" of a Scribus file ?
« Reply #14 on: December 17, 2018, 03:42:25 pm »
no, not one pdf per jpg... one pdf for all jpg...

something like "convert *.jpg book.pdf" with imagemagick
(it's also available for windows but doing it on the command line is not something everybody wants to do....).

all in all, 150 pages full of full page jpg can consume lot of RAM, so you computer might or not be able to handle it:  scribus will be loading all the images in memory.
there are tricks for better handling it... but, at the end, scribus does need to load all images in RAM at once when it creates the PDF.

no idea why in this specific case this is not working for you.
if it's true that it has been working in many similar cases on the same computer and now it does not, then there is little that can be said without seeing the files.

oh, i have never heard of the word "aporie"... i must be a positive guy : - )