Author Topic: Windows 10 and link to forums  (Read 493 times)

mploug

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Windows 10 and link to forums
« on: September 28, 2018, 07:19:48 am »
Hello,

Is Scribus officially supported by Windows 10?
There is nothing about windows 10 on
https://www.scribus.net/downloads/stable-branch/

Why is there no link to the forums http://forums.scribus.net/
from https://www.scribus.net/ ?

Thank you in advance.

Kind regards,
Martin

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1646
  • Karma: 24
    • the graphics lab
Re: Windows 10 and link to forums
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2018, 09:05:57 am »
as far as i know, yes, windows 10 is supported.

i have opened a ticket for you:

https://bugs.scribus.net/view.php?id=15445

and concerning the link from the website... well, i've given up caring about what's on the website... there has been a proposal for a new website and i'm willing to implement it on a community site... but i don't want to do it all alone... (or should i?)

mploug

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Windows 10 and link to forums
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2018, 01:33:18 pm »
Thank you.

If windows 10 is supported and it says it on https://www.scribus.net/downloads/stable-branch/ it is fine.

If there was a link from the website to http://forums.scribus.net/  it would be fine by me. 

mploug

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Windows 10 and link to forums
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2018, 04:46:59 pm »
What about Windows 10 32 bit?

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1646
  • Karma: 24
    • the graphics lab
Re: Windows 10 and link to forums
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2018, 07:24:35 pm »
what about trying?
and reporting the results?
it's not that it takes a long time to download scribus...

... personally, i don't work on windows so i cannot give you an answer based on my experience...

LesCM19

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
  • Karma: 1
  • Scribus User
Re: Windows 10 and link to forums
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2018, 11:38:46 pm »
Used Scribus 1.5.3 & 4 on a Windows 10 64 bit machine and seems to work OK.

As far as I can tell, the reasons I have trouble getting resultant pdfs past the Lightning Source quality control bods is either something I am doing wrong or because I've "still got something going on with either your program or machine, it's rare that they" -(the tech bods)- "have crashes like this so you might want to look into delete/reload your program or something" is what they told me.
cheers

Les

mploug

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Windows 10 and link to forums
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2018, 06:44:40 pm »
Hi,

In the ticket https://bugs.scribus.net/view.php?id=15445 the
status still says 'new'.

There is still no link to the forums from https://www.scribus.net/ .

Just saying. :-)

Kid regards,
Martin

dragonfly

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Windows 10 and link to forums
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2018, 06:55:12 pm »
Quote
There is still no link to the forums from https://www.scribus.net/

Look here ...
https://wiki.scribus.net/canvas/Scribus
and click on Forums.

mploug

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Windows 10 and link to forums
« Reply #8 on: October 23, 2018, 08:35:30 pm »
When I click on the link the page says Forbidden.

What about the ticket?

mploug

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Windows 10 and link to forums
« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2018, 08:47:51 pm »
Maybe it is because I visit the Web pages
from a mobile device (Android smartphone)?

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1646
  • Karma: 24
    • the graphics lab
Re: Windows 10 and link to forums
« Reply #10 on: October 23, 2018, 11:36:29 pm »
the link to the forums does work here... but, yes, i tend to recall that some browser on mobile have issues with redirecting from http to https (the link is http, but the page is https only)

 

palmate