Author Topic: Chaining Text Frames?  (Read 100 times)

IDN101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Chaining Text Frames?
« on: May 02, 2018, 04:48:26 pm »
Is it safe to say that it's probably a good idea not to use the Text Frame Chaining tool if you don't need to????

I'm putting together a large ebook composed of a lot of separate "Units". (it's a software tutorial manual)

I am creating the Units as individual .sla files- and then going to bring them all together (Import) into a Master Document.
When I have tried importing a .sla file that has linked text frames- some of the text flow worked and the rest didn't - seem to be where the chain was between pages.

When I bring in a .sla file with no linking- all frames (text and images) come in just fine.

I think (to be on the safe side) I'll just stay well away from chaining the frames????

Many thanks

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1441
  • Karma: 19
    • the graphics lab
Re: Chaining Text Frames?
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2018, 05:23:34 pm »
text frame chains are fine, but they should not be too long...

IDN101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Chaining Text Frames?
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2018, 06:22:10 pm »
Thanks for this.

Any ideas as to why text may not flow between frames when the pages are imported into a host .sla?

They work absolutely fine in the 'child' sla documents- but break (or some do) when Imported into the 'parent' .sla file.

Thanks once again

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1441
  • Karma: 19
    • the graphics lab
Re: Chaining Text Frames?
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2018, 06:34:22 pm »
i could import two chained text frames from an external file with a somehow recent scribus 1.5.4

which version are you using?

IDN101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Chaining Text Frames?
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2018, 07:10:53 pm »
1.4.6.

Thanks