Scribusoid

Author Topic: identifying measurements  (Read 710 times)

WHYz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
identifying measurements
« on: March 01, 2018, 12:06:04 am »
Hi, Generally when I pull down/across a guide, where I have grabbed it, a little box follows with the distance of the guide (so I can put the guide in the exact place I need it. However, it appears I've done something to stop having those measurements showing. I figured I could fix it in Preferences, but I can't find anything about measurements. Can someone help me fix this situation? (TIA)
If U can't see the silver lining, look harder!

mnawij

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • Karma: 2
  • Scribus User
Re: identifying measurements
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2018, 04:48:39 am »
See attached pic  ;) I hope this is what you are talking about.

Regards,

mnawij

WHYz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: identifying measurements
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2018, 09:31:35 pm »
I have version 1.4.6 for Windows and there is no margins under view.  But thanks, It's at least given me more to search on!
If U can't see the silver lining, look harder!

utnik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1208
  • Karma: 14
Re: identifying measurements
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2018, 01:20:46 am »
I have version 1.4.6 for Windows and there is no margins under view.

…but the entry 'move/resize value indicator'  is the same in 1.4.6.

utnik

WHYz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: identifying measurements
« Reply #4 on: March 02, 2018, 03:05:49 am »
I have version 1.4.6 for Windows and there is no margins under view.

…but the entry 'move/resize value indicator'  is the same in 1.4.6.

utnik
That is great...However, I can't find it using the picture you posted. Here is a screenshot of my Scribus:
If U can't see the silver lining, look harder!

WHYz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: identifying measurements
« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2018, 03:13:55 am »
Given the info that you both (Utnik & Mnawij) gave me, I FINALLY figured out where the problem was! Thanks so much! *kusje* WHYz
If U can't see the silver lining, look harder!

GarryP

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1600
  • Karma: 25
  • Scribus User
Re: identifying measurements
« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2018, 11:16:28 am »
Just to try and make things clearer for anyone else reading this in the future, the "Move/Resize Value Indicator" toggle is in the "View" menu of 1.4.6 but it's at the bottom rather than being in a "Measurement" sub-menu (which is where it is in 1.5.x).