Author Topic: Columns Text Flow  (Read 2529 times)

Ged

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: 0
  • Ex-Pagemaker User
    • 5 Loaves and 2 Fishes
Columns Text Flow
« on: August 31, 2016, 08:12:42 pm »
Ive created seven columns and placed text into the first column.  However, when the text reaches the bottom of the column, it does not automatically flow into the next column.  I looked at 'Working with Text' in the manual but it doesn't mention this aspect.

I suspect it is a simple matter but could do with a nod in the right direction.  Thanks.

(using version 5.2.)
My first 'puter was a 286,
My first dtp was Aldus Pagemaker,
My first printer was a Little Squirt,
My first car was a motorbike.

Nermander

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1324
  • Karma: 17
Re: Columns Text Flow
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2016, 11:12:27 pm »
What do you mean with "created" seven columns?

If it is a single text frame, the number och columns is a property of the frame and the flow should be automatic.

If you have created 7 text frames, you need to link them to get them to flow.

If you have done something else, you will have to explain what you have done.

mnawij

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
  • Karma: 2
  • Scribus User
Re: Columns Text Flow
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2016, 12:18:12 am »
Select First Text Frame
ITEM Menu -> Text Frame Links
Select Next Text Frame

Regards,

mnawij

Ged

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: 0
  • Ex-Pagemaker User
    • 5 Loaves and 2 Fishes
Re: Columns Text Flow
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2016, 12:21:48 am »
What do you mean with "created" seven columns?

If it is a single text frame, the number och columns is a property of the frame and the flow should be automatic.

If you have created 7 text frames, you need to link them to get them to flow.

If you have done something else, you will have to explain what you have done.

I used Tables > Insert columns, because it seemed to be the only place with columns.

How do I get columns in a text frame?  Do I have to create a frame for each of them?
My first 'puter was a 286,
My first dtp was Aldus Pagemaker,
My first printer was a Little Squirt,
My first car was a motorbike.

utnik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1327
  • Karma: 14
Re: Columns Text Flow
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2016, 01:28:40 am »
hi ged


How do I get columns in a text frame?  Do I have to create a frame for each of them?


insert a text frame, select it and go to 'properties' → 'text' → 'columns and text distances'…

utnik

Ged

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
  • Karma: 0
  • Ex-Pagemaker User
    • 5 Loaves and 2 Fishes
Re: Columns Text Flow
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2016, 03:05:36 am »
Hey thanks utnik.  I should have seen that.   :-[
My first 'puter was a 286,
My first dtp was Aldus Pagemaker,
My first printer was a Little Squirt,
My first car was a motorbike.

 

palmate