Author Topic: render frame latex and gnuplot  (Read 4993 times)

La Raison

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
render frame latex and gnuplot
« on: July 14, 2011, 05:13:29 pm »
Hi, everybody. (sorry for my poor english...)

I try to found the latex preamble in scribus render frame to debug and the place were is the latex log.

I also try to show in render frame a graph with gnuplot whitout success.

I receive the following error message (my traduction):
"gnuplot set output '%.png'" can't be launch. Check the path.

In console "gnuplot" terminal start.

thanks if you can help me,

Have a good day.

La Raison


a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2067
  • Karma: 27
    • the graphics lab
Re: render frame latex and gnuplot
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2011, 02:26:53 pm »
which OS?

how was gnuplot installed?

where is it installed? ("which gnuplot")

what is in your path? ("echo $PATH")

ciao
a.l.e

La Raison

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: render frame latex and gnuplot
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2011, 04:44:33 pm »
Hi, a.l.e

Thanks for your reply.

I use windows Vista,

After your questions, i try to understand gnuplot installation on my system.
Gnuplot is intalled, but probably in a funny way.
1. in C:\Program Files\gnuplot\bin
2. in xcas (math program)
3. in CygTeXmacs

then a try with Latex,

    \documentclass{article}
    \usepackage{tikz}
    \begin{document}
    \begin{tikzpicture}
    \draw[domain=0:10] plot function {sin(x)};
    \end{tikzpicture}
    \end{document}

And the pdf is good, i can see the sinus fonction.
Tikz is suppose to use gnuplot internally to display the plot.

Maybe it's the command i change in scribus :
gnuplot "set terminal png set output $scribus_file$.png"

(I can't found the initial command when i install Scribus.)

thanks

I wish you can help me with this informations.

La Raison


La Raison

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: render frame latex and gnuplot
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2011, 04:48:23 pm »
Hi, again

For my second problem : Render framed in LaTeX.

This is the error log i receive:

This is pdfTeX, Version 3.1415926-1.40.10 (MiKTeX 2.8)
entering extended mode
(C:/Users/Marcboss/AppData/Local/Temp/scribus_temp_render_yV3844
! Undefined control sequence.
l.2       \documentclass
                    [a4paper,11pt]{extarticle}
! Undefined control sequence.
l.3       \usepackage
                 [utf8]{inputenc}
! Undefined control sequence.
l.4       \usepackage
                 [left=0cm,top=0cm,right=0cm,bottom=0cm,nohead,nofoot]{geome...

! Undefined control sequence.
l.5       \title
            {Scribus-Latex-File}

Overfull \hbox (21.19067pt too wide) in paragraph at lines 2--6
[]\tenrm [a4paper,11pt]extarticle [utf8]inputenc [left=0cm,top=0cm,right=0cm,bo
ttom=0cm,nohead,nofoot]geometry|
! Undefined control sequence.
l.7       \usepackage
                 {amsmath}
! Undefined control sequence.
l.8       \author
             {Scribus}
! Undefined control sequence.
l.9       \pagestyle
                {empty}
! Undefined control sequence.
l.10       \setlength
                 {\textwidth}{84.78 pt}
! Undefined control sequence.
l.10       \setlength{\textwidth
                            }{84.78 pt}
! Undefined control sequence.
l.11       \begin
             {document}
! Undefined control sequence.
l.12    \section
              *{Introduction}
! Undefined control sequence.
l.13 Votre cadre \LaTeX
                        fonctionne lorsque vous pouvez lire ce texte !\\
Runaway argument?
 Placer des formules est très facile :\\ Clique droit $\Rightarrow $\ETC.
! Paragraph ended before \\ was complete.
<to be read again>
                   \par
l.23
     
)
! Emergency stop.
<*> ...pData/Local/Temp/scribus_temp_render_yV3844
                                                 
!  ==> Fatal error occurred, no output PDF file produced!
Transcript written on scribus_temp_render_yV3844.log.
texify: pdftex failed for some reason (see log file).

For me, it's like some garbage pollute the preamble, maybe?

Thanks

La Raison

La Raison

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: render frame latex and gnuplot
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2011, 08:46:57 pm »
Hi,

My experiments about gnuplot continue.

The command : "C:\Program Files\gnuplot\binary\gnuplot.exe" %file

run whitout error (I think) and the frame appear with a big red cross and "scribus_temp_render_yV4680.png"­

but the right plot name is "UsersMarcbossAppDataLocalTempscribus_temp_render_yV4680.png" without slash (\)! in the path : C:\Users\Marcboss\AppData\Local\Temp...

If you have an explication,

thanks

La Raison

Wena

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: 0
Re: render frame latex and gnuplot
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2011, 12:27:27 am »
Just registered now, I am new to Scribus, but used Microsoft Publisher.

I need to be able to finish my publication in PDF/x-1a:2001 for my commercial printer. The cover of the book is in color but the whole of the inside is black and white with some graphics, all of it have to be PDF/x-1a:2001. I have been able to achieve this in the other DTP.

Help please, I like what I have seen in this program and want to use it.

Wena,
From South Wales, U.K.   

 

palmate