Scribusoid

Author Topic: embed or outline?  (Read 4197 times)

Karela

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
embed or outline?
« on: June 11, 2014, 09:07:52 pm »
I have a document going to print, and the printer can't get the fonts to work.

When I exported to pdf there is the font option of embed or outline.

I outlined all the fonts. Why? No idea, but it has worked in the past ;-)

More importantly, when I want to embed the fonts, I check the box "embed all" and only one of them goes in. The others all stay elsewhere. Currently, the printer says that none are working. They say that moreover I can't just send them the fonts as separate files, they need to actually be embedded in the pdf.

Where am I going wrong???

Karela

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: embed or outline?
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2014, 09:15:32 pm »
Printer also suggested that I could convert all the text to outlines manually if all else fails. Not really wanting to do that for 70 pages.

leaf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: embed or outline?
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2014, 10:06:59 pm »
Perhaps You have in option selected to Scribus embed only subset fonts, uncheck it, and try again. Often it helps and scribus embed all font.
2 solution - print from Scribus your document as postscript file and next convert them to pdf in ghostscript, or in pdfcreator (here there is option - embed fonts)

Karela

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: embed or outline?
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2014, 10:25:22 pm »
Where would I find the option for the embed only subset fonts?

I tried to convert all the texts to outlines. It was clearly a poor choice as I now have a blank 70 page document :-(

leaf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: embed or outline?
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2014, 10:42:03 pm »
File -> preferences -> Fonts ->and here there is subset - uncheck it

leaf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: embed or outline?
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2014, 10:48:15 pm »
I tried to convert all the texts to outlines. It was clearly a poor choice as I now have a blank 70 page document :-(

I always convert to curves on the copy of the document. It is vital for safety and well-being.

Karela

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: embed or outline?
« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2014, 12:18:21 am »
File -> preferences -> Fonts ->and here there is subset - uncheck it

Do you mean File>preferences or Scribus> preferences? Either way I don't seem to find it...

In scribus> preferences there is a list of all my fonts, but I don't see the subsets, and there is no file > preferences.

Has anyone had experience with a very heavy document converted to outlines? I can't convert more than one text block at a time without the programme crashing.

utnik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1313
  • Karma: 14
Re: embed or outline?
« Reply #7 on: June 12, 2014, 02:01:50 am »
hi karela

In scribus> preferences there is a list of all my fonts, but I don't see the subsets

scroll a bit more to the right, there are boxes to embed and outline for every installed font.

Quote
…and there is no file > preferences.

this depends on the operating system…

utnik

leaf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: embed or outline?
« Reply #8 on: June 12, 2014, 09:50:08 am »
On screen is more...
Convert to curves it is extreme for 70 pages. Check earlier 1 and 2 solution from my reply.

ps
I convert text to curves in document about 30-40 pages, but it was only diplomas, bages (one name on page) and it works ok.