Scribus Forums

Scribus => Beginner Talk => Topic started by: Cecilieaux on January 06, 2020, 05:52:50 pm

Title: hide space control characters
Post by: Cecilieaux on January 06, 2020, 05:52:50 pm
Is there a way to show only paragraph returns (not the spaces between characters) when show control characters is turned on? (See signature for app and OS versions.)

Cecilieaux
Title: Re: hide space control characters
Post by: a.l.e on January 06, 2020, 06:11:12 pm
no, that's not possible.

is there any software that allows this?

ciao
a.l.e
Title: Re: hide space control characters
Post by: Cecilieaux on January 06, 2020, 06:33:03 pm
is there any software that allows this?

Ventura Publisher (Windows) has a preference to select which control characters to display. I'm used to displaying only paragraph markers, to make sure that soft returns aren't where they shouldn't be.
Title: Re: hide space control characters
Post by: a.l.e on January 06, 2020, 06:57:50 pm
can you have a look at scribus 1.5.6svn and make a proposal on how this should be implemented in scribus?

you can get the latest developpment as an appimage from:

https://gitlab.com/scribus/scribus/-/jobs/artifacts/master/raw/Scribus-nightly-x86_64.AppImage?job=appimage%3Alinux

ciao
a.l.e¶
Title: Re: hide space control characters
Post by: Cecilieaux on January 06, 2020, 08:57:35 pm
can you have a look at scribus 1.5.6svn and make a proposal on how this should be implemented in scribus?

Exactly where do I make such a suggestion?
Title: Re: hide space control characters
Post by: a.l.e on January 07, 2020, 10:02:33 am
you could have continued this thread...
we're not so picky...
... the topic did not change.

but a new thread is also a good solution : - )

http://forums.scribus.net/index.php/topic,3579.msg16925.html

at the end, the proposal will need to go to https://bugs.scribus.net , but the discussion can take place in here.

i will further comment on the topic you have opened...
Title: Re: hide space control characters
Post by: Cecilieaux on January 08, 2020, 07:30:04 pm
you could have continued this thread...
we're not so picky...
... the topic did not change.

but a new thread is also a good solution : - )

http://forums.scribus.net/index.php/topic,3579.msg16925.html

at the end, the proposal will need to go to https://bugs.scribus.net , but the discussion can take place in here.

The bugs site requires signing up. I am not a developed and there are very rare occasions I will use this. If you have a lodin, could you post it as a bug?

i will further comment on the topic you have opened...