Scribus Forums

Scribus => Raster and Vector Graphics => Vector graphics and postscript => Topic started by: utnik on August 05, 2013, 01:00:35 pm

Title: .svg in image frame – strange answer in mantis bug tracker
Post by: utnik on August 05, 2013, 01:00:35 pm
in scribus 1.4.2 it was possible to load .svg files in image frames ('files of type' → 'all files(*)' in the 'open' window…) in 1.4.3 this doesn't work any more.
i mentioned this as a bug and was told that it wasn't possible in any existing scribus version. as i recieved a .sla file produced in 1.4.2 on windows xp and wasn't able to display or export it correctly, i reinstalled 1.4.2 on mac os. with this version it worked – and i was able to load any other .svg file in an image frame and export it to .pdf.
even when i uploaded a file (see bug #11698 (http://bugs.scribus.net/view.php?id=11698)), instead of trying to open it in 1.4.2, one of the developers told me, that what i uploaded doesn't exist…
for me, this is a very strange behavior.
utnik
Title: Re: .svg in image frame – strange answer in mantis bug tracker
Post by: a.l.e on August 05, 2013, 02:29:56 pm
salü utnik,

i've never heard about this feature either... and i wonder why it works...

i've just created an svg in inkscape and i could indeed load it in an image frame in scribus 1.4.1. (os x)

i wonder if it's a specific version of ghostscript that is allowing this... or some other library?

all in all: it's a very old request of mine to have vector drawing in frames... but there is no real interest in going for it :-(

ciao
a.l.e
Title: Re: .svg in image frame – strange answer in mantis bug tracker
Post by: utnik on August 05, 2013, 04:00:56 pm
hi ale

thanks for testing!
i run scribus 1.4.2 and 1.4.3 with the same ghostscript 8.64 – in 1.4.2 this .svg in frame thing works, in 1.4.3 it doesn't – not ghostscript version related…
by a closer look, i recognized that it's not a vector graphic any more. the .svg gets rendered when i place it in the frame. (i saw this in your info box and double checked with my file…) in this case it's rather a bug than a feature.

utnik