Scribus Forums

Scribus => General Discussion => Topic started by: digirew on October 23, 2020, 04:59:09 am

Title: Scribus and macOS Big Sur
Post by: digirew on October 23, 2020, 04:59:09 am
Just curious if anyone has tried running the latest build of scribus 1.5.6.svn on a developer/beta preview copy of Big Sur?

Any comments on how it runs?

Title: Re: Scribus and macOS Big Sur
Post by: digirew on October 28, 2020, 06:44:20 pm
In case anyone else is wondering.

I setup up macOS Big Sur 11 Beta 10 and downloaded Scribus 1.5.6 svn (r24102) :

https://sourceforge.net/projects/scribus/files/scribus-svn/1.5.6.svn/Scribus15xNightly_Mojave-20201025-r24102.dmg/download


When I tried to launch the software, I was presented with a message "Scribus15xNightly can't be opened because Apple cannot check it for malicious software".

Im guessing its because the package has not been notarized since it's not an official release. Nonetheless you can bypass this by simply control-clicking the app and open the first time to allow it.


I have not given it any intense usage just yet, but Scribus does indeed run on macOS Big Sur 11 Beta 10, and seems to be stable - which is very good news!


I will report any issues I come across.
Title: Re: Scribus and macOS Big Sur
Post by: MrB on November 15, 2020, 01:06:46 am
I notarise the dmgs. go grab 1.5.6.1.dmg ! Yes, it works on Big Sur
Title: Re: Scribus and macOS Big Sur
Post by: slavonec on February 06, 2021, 09:45:31 am
It does NOT. It does not work for me. Is there any other way?
Title: Re: Scribus and macOS Big Sur
Post by: utnik on February 06, 2021, 11:03:27 am
hi slavonec

did you try to open it by control-klick and 'open'? – if yes, what was the error message? (if there was any…)

utnik
Title: Re: Scribus and macOS Big Sur
Post by: digirew on February 08, 2021, 04:01:32 pm
good to know that 1.5.6.1 is notarized.


Not sure what issues slavonec is having, but I have 1.5.6 working on my big sur without issues.

Title: Re: Scribus and macOS Big Sur
Post by: mnawij on February 10, 2021, 04:22:44 am
I also have it running on Big Sur Intel, not the new M1. I just have not had the chance to put it through its paces to make sure everything works. Are you getting any error messages?

Cheers!

mnawij