GhostScript: No executable for Scribus? Install not recognized?

Previous topic - Next topic

LDMartin1959

Newbie here. I have found a GhostScript package for OS X (gplgs-8.71.dmg) but this does not seem to satisfy Scribus. GhostScript requirements call for an executable located as /usr/local/bin/gs. I have looked and GS is present but this does not seem to satisfy Scribus. I keep getting the message that GhostScript is not installed. I've searched the forums but seem to find nothing that answers the question: "What am I missing here"?

Thank you.

Nermander

Scribus will only search for Ghostscript on install, so if you install Ghostscript after Scribus you will have to manually set the correct path to the executable. I don't know what it is for OS X.

GarryP

LDMartin1959

Quote from: Nermander on October 02, 2013, 07:16:53 AM
Scribus will only search for Ghostscript on install, so if you install Ghostscript after Scribus you will have to manually set the correct path to the executable. I don't know what it is for OS X.

Quote from: Nermander on October 02, 2013, 07:16:53 AM

GS was installed before I relaunched Scribus, and the correct path was already present in the preferences so I didn't have to do any changes there. The reference is there and is correct, but for some reason, it just isn't recognizing it as being there. Thanks for the direction, though.

Nermander

I think there is a strange bug, even if the path to the executable is correct you need to re-enter it.

GarryP

If you can't get it to work as Nermander suggests above then I have three other ideas (some might not apply directly to you but might be valid for other people reading this):

1. Is Scribus pointing to a valid executable file? It might be that it's looking at a link file that is somehow broken.