Do a "border-bottom"

Previous topic - Next topic

elwinar

Hello here.

I'm new with scribus, and I have been looking around for an answer to my question with satisfying result. Here is the question:
Is it possible to draw a border for a box, only on the bottom?

I have searched in the options of Line Styles, but it always draw a full border on my box, and I only want it on the bottom. For the document I have been creating, I just drew it with the line tool as I needed it once, but I was wondering if there is a better solution.

Thanks for everyone that will be trying to give me an answer.
Elwinar;

PS: English is not my mother tongue, excuse (and feel free to correct) any error I made...

GarryP

Hello Elwinar.

I have a way of doing what you want but it's not very nice and probably breaks some rules for typesetting etc. If there is a better way of doing this then I'd love to know about it.

Anyway, here's my (horrible) workflow:

1. Create the text frame.
2. Open the Properties palette.
3. Go to the Colors tab.
4. Select the Fill Color Properties icon.
5. Select a Vertical Gradient Fill (instead of Normal) from the drop-down list.
6. Select the left-hand color stop (triangle).
7. Select White from the colors list.
8. Select the right-hand color stop.
9. Select Black from the colors list.
10. Select the left-hand color stop again.
11. Set it's Position at 99% (or a bit less for a thicker line).

You should now have a text frame that has a black line at the bottom.

I did say this wasn't brilliant but it does the job if you just want something simple.

I hope this helps in some way.

P.S. You can use a similar method, but with a horizontal gradient, for things like call-out boxes (see attached image).

[attachment deleted by admin]

a.l.e

hi garry,

this is a creative solution!
... but the result in print may be a bit deceiving...
the line won't really be sharp...

hi elwinar,

the best and simplest thing to do, is to draw a line below the text frame.