3 fold brochure

Previous topic - Next topic

know473

Hi there,

as a complete newbie to fold brochures I want to create a 3-fold roll brochure to be printed by a professional printhouse. I want to provide them with a pdf file. (The graphic designers there use Adobe software, so I want to avoid discussing the underlying source file.)

I would create a Single Page type of document with 2 pages in Scribus (my version is 1.5.7) and arrange the content in 3 panels per page as depicted in the attachment.

What I do not understand is, how to include "folding marks" of "folding guides" or however it is called (I do not know the right expression) so that the printhouse knows where to fold. I want to control their exact position as the panels may not be equal size etc.

(Maybe I should mention that I also tried the Facing Pages type of document just to see how it works in Scribus, even though there is only the half fold option with 2 panels next to each other. As a result, it exported every panel as a separate page with bleeds. I expected it would export 2 pages with 2 panels per page and bleeds around each pair of panels.)

Many thanks!

utnik

Quote from: know473 on March 12, 2023, 05:53:40 PM...The graphic designers there use Adobe software, so I want to avoid discussing the underlying source file.
even then i would ask the print house how they would like the fold marks in the .pdf file. (it could be a hairline in a spot color called 'fold' or something like that...)

utnik

Nermander

What I have read in the past is that most printing houses either have fixed folds (they give you the measurements, you have do adopt your design) or they say you can just describe in an illustration how you want it folded.