How to set Scribus automatically make the required amount of frames?

Previous topic - Next topic

helios

Scribus 1.5.6.1 on Linux Debian: how to import a full .odt book into Scribus, without adding pages ar removing extra empty pages?
As I read, first I should to specify page numbers before importing any document inro Scribus: but I don't know the actual pages quantity, and source document formatted with two pages on sheet. How to set that Scribus automatically make the the required amount of frames when importing any document?  I need create file for printing book on page size 150 x 210 mm sinle page (Facing pages 300 x 210 mm): what settings should I specify in Scribus  for Margin Guides, Bleeds?

Ewac

Hi

I'm not a pro, but as far as I know there is no way to tell scribus to create as many pages as are needed to fit your imported document.
If I was you, I would make a copy of your source .odt file and change the page size to what your book is supposed to have later. Choose a font and font size that you would use in the book as well. This will only take a few clicks, but you will have a better idea of how many pages your final book might end up having.
Then set up your scribus file and when you specify the page numbers, add a bunch of extra pages to be on the safe side (especially for allowing new chapters to start on a right page and such). If you do not need all those extra pages in the end, it is easy to delet them (Page, delete, from page no... to...). Make sure to tick "create automated text boxes when you create the document. Then go ahead and import your file.