My journey with Scribus and what is wrong with it

Previous topic - Next topic

MikkoPEEronen

My journey with Scribus and what is wrong with it
by Mikko-Pentti Einari Eronen

Introduction
Hi! My name is Mikko-Pentti Einari Eronen and I am from Finland. I am a professional Adobe Indesign user who has worked for a national wide media company (PunaMusta Media oyj) for a little over 10 years. My perspective is naturally a bit biased due to heavy Indesign use, however I do understand that Scribus is not and it should never mimic Indesign.
  My usual workday contains creating advertisements for printed magazines, designing and creating print-ready materials of all kinds and for all sort of surfaces (paper, cloth, etc) and we work closely with our print department, digital banners, article formatting, scripting (Python, Indesign scripts etc), creating accessible document
  I have tried Scribus many times over the years but I am unable to get over and through the small things that prevent me from acquiring a smooth workflow with Scribus. The purpose of this post is NOT to mock or downplay Scribus in anyway. I have the highest respect to the developers and the software. You can be very proud of it. On technical side the software gets many, many things right. But most issues I have ran into are on user-experience side.

Lets make a simple business card!
For the purpose of this article and also because I need one, I decided to make a business card for myself using Scribus.

1.0. Creating a new document - New Document Dialog