Malfunction of styles

Previous topic - Next topic

Alfred

Hello everyone,

In short:
I open a new document, I import the text, I create a style but, when I apply the style the text does not format as I want so I am forced to manually enter the font, alignment, spacing etc.

Using Scribus 1.5.6. on Linux Mint 20;
i have already tried to delete and reinstall but, negative result.
the question is: can I do something to eliminate this malfunction?

Thank you...

utnik

hi alfred

usually styles work flawless...
how are you applying the style?
could you share a file with an applied style to some paragraphs which don't show  the defined attributes of this style?

utnik

Alfred

Hi utnik,

Thanks for the reply,
I have no difficulty in sending you the file, it is a small example of a very simple recipe book,
the imported text is a very normal RTF file; prepared styles and applied but, to me on my system, they don't work.

I have been using Scribus for several years and had never had any difficulty with styles.

P.S. I apologize for the English, it is not my mother tongue.

[attachment deleted by admin]

utnik

hi alfred

when i opened your file, the whole text was displayed in 'liberation serif regular' and in the 'text properties' the different styles have been applied. i could correct the styles with the story editor (by re-applying the already applied styles...)
a look into the source code of the file showed that there was a direct formatting with 'liberation serif' on top of the styles. this direct formatting overruns the style settings.
you have to be careful with mixtures of styles and 'in frame' settings.

utnik

Alfred

Hi utnik,

I didn't understand when you say there is direct formatting with 'liberation serif' above the styles
I have not done any formatting or at least I think I have not done it,

my workflow is this:
- I prepare the text with OpenOffice and save it in RTF;
- I open a new Scribus document;
- page size and margins;