Can't see Dingbats & other symbols

Previous topic - Next topic

cliffskier

I am new to Scribus. I am trying to create a bullet list using a Dingbat or Wingding character for the bullet, but all I see are red square outlines when I use those fonts. The Preflight Verifier reports an error, "Glyphs missing [black box] Background." Ordinary letter fonts do not produce this error.

My Wingdings work in other programs. I can even see them in the Story Editor dialog if I choose Wingdings as the display font--but they still don't show up in the text frame.

I am using Scribus 1.4.0 in Windows 7. I have searched everything I can think of, but can't find any info about this problem. Any tips on how to use these fonts?

Cliff

Wena

Try saving a small peace to a PDF file to see if there is what you want. What you see on screen is not always what you get.

Wena

cliffskier

If I export to a PDF file, the Wingdings characters are invisible. Text in another font looks normal.

Cliff

Nermander

How do you get the bullets? Copy and paste from another program?

Scribus only uses the glyphs that are available in the font used, so your must probably create a character style using the right font and use that style for the bullets.

cliffskier

I just select the Wingdings font from the drop-down list in Story Editor. Or, while experimenting, I have also specified Wingdings in the properties box for my text frame. Then I type the letters corresponding to the symbols I want. If I want a snowflake I type a capital T. If I want a round bullet I type a lower case L.