Illust. encylopedia 1 big text box or individual text box for each entry?

Previous topic - Next topic

violeteglantine

Hello all!
I'm making an illustrated Shakespearean encyclopedia with over 400 entries. Each image (which I am drawing) has a gloss (text) to go with it. The text will be on the left hand side and the accompanying image will be on the right.

The entries will be objects, plants, animals, personalities, and places that are mentioned in Midsummer Night's Dream.

I am trying to figure out if I should make one big text block and then add the images in after or make an individual text box for each gloss that is connected to its image box.

I am new to Scribus but have used MS publisher and In Design.

Thank you!  :)

[attachment deleted by admin]

dragonfly

Good luck with your project.

It will help readers if you explain what OS you are using. And what tool for drawing images?
I am just another user figuring out how to integrate Scribus in a toolchain using other tools.
Since you will be managing more than 400 document fragments I would spend some time figuring out how to manage these.
I have learned from posting my own questions that you should not link all your textframes otherwise Scribus will become sluggish in compiling.
If you plan to wrap your text flow around 400 or so images, understand that images and text need to be on different layers. Search the forum for advice on text wrapping around images.
I would draw images in Inkscape (svg format).  You can add effects by using Blender (but that is for advanced usage).  There is at least one post I found in the forum explaining how to pass an svg logo developed in Inkscape into Blender.