Resizing shape: 1.5.3 specific

Previous topic - Next topic

deonholt

Hi and thank you for your help.

I started learning Scribus about 3 days ago.
Shapes in 1.4.6
I have a textbox on a page with text. I add Image box with Image. Image larger than image box and I choose: resize image to frame.
After this I can freely drag the BOX a little bit bigger so the text is not to close to the image. I can do this without the image itself continually resizing itself according to the size of the box that holds it.

But, it doesn't work the same in 1.5.3
When I resize the image BOX the image automatically resizes according to the size of the box. Is there a way in 1.5.3 to "switch off" the resizing once I am happy with the size of the image and just want to enlarge the size of the frame only?
I know I can by double clicking on the image move it around in the image frame. But, the moment I enlarge the frame on the top, the image resizes.  :(

Will appreciate some help. This is so frustrating.

GarryP

I don't know about the differences in 1.5.x - I don't use the developmental versions and would not recommend them to beginners - but I think you're doing the wrong thing to get what you want.
To get text to flow around an image frame, leaving a gap between the image and the text, you should be using the Contour Line instead of resizing the image frame.
See here https://wiki.scribus.net/canvas/Working_with_image_frames#Text_Flows_Around_Frame for some basic information.

deonholt

Quote from: GarryP on February 25, 2018, 09:22:04 AM
I don't know about the differences in 1.5.x - I don't use the developmental versions and would not recommend them to beginners - but I think you're doing the wrong thing to get what you want.
To get text to flow around an image frame, leaving a gap between the image and the text, you should be using the Contour Line instead of resizing the image frame.