Ink coverage does not match the settings

Previous topic - Next topic

Bluemate

Hi there,

This is my first project with Scribus and I've created a simple visit card, with a coloured shape as background, a logo image and a text area above this shape.

The shape is black on the first 2/3 (from the left) and then for the last 1/3 I've set a color gradient going from black on left to red on the right. It looks great on the screen. If I export it as a .pdf the gradient become...  :-X :-\ well a mixture of grey not looking good at all.

So I exported as a .jpeg image since the compagny who will print the cards accept this type of file as well and previous prints came out great like that.

Now my problem is that the Mr. from support at the printing compagny is keeping telling me that they cannot send it to print because the black area of my project (the black part of the above mentionned shape) has an ink coverage over 300%. He show me a print screen of a tool mesuring a total of 324% ink coverage.

I've checked everything I could but don't understand where the problem come from. There is no other lyer below or above this black shape and the color I used is a black composed of C60% M40% Y40% K100% which if I count it right comes to 240% which is far from the 324% told by the printer.

Could someone provide me with hints ? What is going on with that ink coverage here ?

Thanks

Nermander

A JPEG cannot (as far as I know) contain CMYK data, thus your JPEG is most likely RGB.

This means that if you used CMYK colors in your Scribus document, those got converted to RGB when you exported to JPEG.

Bluemate

Thank you for your reply Nermander.

So this alone would explain the jump from 240% ink to 324% ??

Nermander

No, but it could.