Printing / Exporting shows different colours to those in scribus

Previous topic - Next topic

owweeee

Hi I'm relatively new to Scribus. I created some business cards for a charity I volunteer for and when I print them out or export them for printing the colours are darker and duller (see pdf for printing) then the ones in the original document, or exported to use on the web (see pdf for web).

I think the problem might be because of RGB/CMYK differences, but I'm not sure how to get around it.

Thanks

Owen

[attachment deleted by admin]

utnik

hi owen

some of your colors aren't printable in a regular cmyk process.
either you work wit spot colors (expensive), or you live with the limitations of process colors.

activate the color management and let scribus simulate the printer colors...

utni

owweeee

Damn.

Thank you, Could you or anybody recommend somewhere online that can help me choose suitable process colours.

mnawij

utnik

hi mnawij

i don't think a pantone color conversion book is what owen needs – he will have the same experience as with the 'rgb to cmyk' conversion. (many of the most brilliant colors will change do dull printable 'equivalents'...)

@owen:

if you are working in a real cmyk process, you could define your colors in cmyk. then you don't need to convert anything – you just can't define unprintable values...

utnik

mnawij

Hey Utnik,

My understanding was that he was looking for a solution... the only solution is to choose CMYK values to begin with when designing to match across multiple color spectrums with print being one of the mediums, unless I misunderstood his question. *shrug* I could be wrong...

@owweeee:  Let me know if you are looking for something different and I would be glad to assist.

mnawij

a.l.e

hoi mnawij

as far as i know, the only way for a good approximation of the colors that will be printed, is to (correctly) enable the color management.