Book Layout: problem pasting text

Previous topic - Next topic

How do I delete "ghost" frames so that my pasted text becomes visible within the page frames?

gerardeen@hotmail.com
1 (100%)
gerardeen@hotmail.com
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 1

gerardeen

Hi. I am new to Scribus and am using it to layout a book/novel. I've encountered a problem pasting text from a MS Word document (going chapter by chapter) when I reached the end of the Scribus document and I have to add or append additional pages. Attached is a PDF with a couple of screen grabs of the issue: The text I attempt to paste at the end of the document is not displaying in the Scribus pages but is either invisible or appears at the very bottom inside a set of "ghost" frames (ie, frames that are in the gray area of the application).

I've gotten to page 136 of the novel. This issue has only happened twice before, and I was able to resolve it those two times by deleting the pasted chapter and deleting the ghost frames containing the "invisible" pasted text. But this time around, I am unable to delete the ghost frames, which are sometimes empty, sometimes filled with pasted text, and sometimes not present. I suspect that deleting these ghost frames should fix the problem.

I really hope that someone can help me. Otherwise, I may have to switch to InDesign. Thank you!!!

[attachment deleted by admin]

GarryP

Welcome to the forum gerardeen.

I believe the problem you're having may be due to the use of automatic text frames. Someone else had similar problems earlier in the year and the issue was posted on the forum. I believe it was resolved but I haven't been able to find which post it was yet.

I'll have more of a thorough look when I get more time but these posts might be of some help in the meantime:
* http://forums.scribus.net/index.php/topic,1972.0.html
* http://forums.scribus.net/index.php/topic,2083.0.html