InDesign Links ≠ Scribus Manage Images?

Previous topic - Next topic

zero2dash

I was a graphic designer (by trade) for the last 20 years, and grew up cutting my teeth on PageMaker and Quark, eventually teaching myself InDesign and now Scribus.

I'm no longer a designer by trade; I'm an IT guy. ;D That being said, I still do have a customer that I do freelance work for on the side.

I take raster logos and reproduce them as a vector logo.
I've switched to FOSS and rid myself of Adobe, and there's 1 standout that I'm missing from InDesign that is sorta in Scribus, but not really.

My process (now) goes Inkscape > GIMP > Scribus whereas it used to go Illustrator > Photoshop > InDesign > Acrobat Pro (for PDF forms). [That is one area especially that Scribus kills InDesign, is on PDF forms.]

There may be a better way to do this, but this is how I've figured out to do it (thus far). If anyone has a better suggestion, please, pass it along.
My hopes in bringing this up is to either a) find a better alternative solution, or b) find out that this functionality is (hopefully) something "coming soon".

So, without further ado -
InDesign first.

I have artwork, an 8 1/2 x 11 page with 3 copies of a single linked image.
The linked image is also 8 1/2 x 11.
The reason I do it this way is because the single image changes, but there is other information set to the right of the images (product numbers, product details).
It may not be a fully elegant solution but "it works".
I take a single PSD file and edit 3 layers to show mockups of customer product with customer logos.

Using InDesign CS2 which is arguably "free" (can of worms opened by Adobe and then retracted).

Here's my page. 3 boxes, A, B, C, different content in each.
If I want to change the linked images, I open the Links palette of InDesign.

From here, I'm going to choose to Relink... my art to point to the new file.

I've now changed 1 of my image links, leaving the other 2 alone (for now).