Scribus not recognizing correct PPI? (importing a 350PPI pdf at 72ppi)

Previous topic - Next topic

jaygee

Hello,

I'm new to Scribus but it would be awesome if I can get it to work for my project.

I have a file created in Photoshop at with the following dimensions:
10.75" wide, 4.125" height, 350 PPI

I save this file in photoshop as PDF using [High Quality Print]  Acrobat 5 (PDF 1.4) and default options for the rest.

When I import the image into Scribus, it always comes up grainy and at 72PPI (preview quality is "High").

If I use a PNG instead of PDF, image properties in Scribus are correct - 350PPI/DPI and the quality looks correct.

Any suggestions here?

jaygee

I've also read this:

http://wiki.scribus.net/canvas/Images_-_PPI_and_DPI

But it doesn't make sense to me since my image is being created at 350PPI originally at my desired height/width.

I can even open this PDF again in photoshop and it tells me that it is 350PPI

Nermander

PPI is not a property of a digital image, it's just a number in the file telling the "preferred" physical size.

Please see the explanations in this topic: http://forums.scribus.net/index.php/topic,112.msg453.html

utnik

hi jaygee

Quote from: jaygee on October 22, 2015, 02:10:29 AMI have a file created in Photoshop at with the following dimensions:
10.75" wide, 4.125" height, 350 PPI

...so the real resolution of your image is something like 3762×1444 pixels.

QuoteI save this file in photoshop as PDF

why?
if it's an image, you should use an image format (.tif, .jpg, .psd, .png...)

QuoteWhen I import the image into Scribus, it always comes up grainy and at 72PPI

what value do you read in 'extras' → 'manage images' → 'layout' → 'effective dpi'?
(unfortunately even scribus calls this 'dpi' instead of 'ppi'...)

how does the final .pdf from scribus look like? (resolution ok?)