Aligning multiple text frames and image frames in a book

Previous topic - Next topic

jvecht

I printed the entire thread and went over all the comments one by one.

Thank you so much for your efforts! Nine printed pages. I highly appreciate this. Most of the comments are not new to me or at least very understandable. But there is a huge difference between theory and actually creating a document like this. I learned a lot, that is sure. It was really hard work, this first "book". I also had to await whether it would be failure or success, so I did not continue until all was really good. I am no pro at all, I am a car engineer. I was trained to build cars (in a big team, that is).

Some remarks:

I wanted the design be readable on all screens down to a 7" tablet. That forced me to use a font that, I fully agree, is big on normal screens. I had in mind many using the document to understand Xubuntu would like to be able to read it at the side of the screen. On a tablet or printed on paper. It is even readable on an smartphone screen, but that was not my goal.

A second consideration is to keep elder people and those with other reading issues in mind as well as the many people not very used to serious reading any more.

I considered using two columns. The width of each of the three columns exceeds that of many renowned publications and makes the text better readable.

I had several readers complain about the three column layout, although it is not that very special  as a short visit to the magazine shelf of any public library will quickly show. I also wanted to avoid the impression this document was a book. I wanted it to look a bit like a magazine and reading a interesting story instead of a study book.

Finally: I appreciate any guidelines on getting really good screenshots. Mine are maybe not that nice, but they are very readable unlike quite some commercial books.