I'd love some critique of something I did.

Previous topic - Next topic

apastuszak

I'm a stamp collector.  I "hack" my own pages to mount stamps on.  I have recently taken it upon myself to design pages for the Postage Stamps of Ireland for 2011.  I, obviously, think the pages are good, and the people on the various stamp collecting forums seem to like them, but I am more than willing to accept and feedback to make them better.

Here's a screenshot of one of the pages:

If you want to grab the PDF and go all hyper-critical, you can grab it off my blog here:

http://stamphacks.com/wp/?p=942

I'm not a professional graphic artist.  Just a hobbyist having some fun, so all feedback is welcome.

Nermander

For the bottom three I think it would look better if the bottoms of the frames were aligned (since the headings need to be aligned too that will giva you some "air" between the heading and the frame for the middle one). Now the captions under the frames look weird because they don't align.

Maybe for the upper ones it would also look better if the caption text was bottom aligned with the frames, I'm not sure about that one, but you could try.

GarryP

Apart from Nermander's suggestions (which I agree with) one extra suggestion may be - depending on how the sheets will be used - to add a small light-grey-scale image of the stamp inside the frame (if you have such an image).

That way, people can see what the stamp looks like when they haven't got it in their collection and they'll have an idea of what to look out for.

It's just an idea though.

The rest looks great. I like the simple design because it doesn't take your eye of the stamps which, I'm guessing, is the whole point.

Nermander

I think he may run into copyright problems by using an image like that.

apastuszak

I make Ukrainian stamp pages also. I use images on those pages: