Import page pdf

Previous topic - Next topic

oortDG

Hi all,

After creating an first real document, i'm impressed how sribus is acting. My daughter must create a big document (72 pages) for school with a lot of pictures in it, and scribus handle it correctly.

After said this, a few comments / questions. We missed functionality to import pages from a spreadsheet. To work around it we found that is was possible to import an pdf page as a picture. Ok scribus generate an error for this action something with pdf and background and a black square at the right side, but I'm not a professional user and the document needed only to be print out on a normal printer, so with ignore errors it create an pdf. and it looked great!.

But during printing, directly from scribus on a hp laser printer an total black page was printed. So we printed this pages from the generated pdf.

So is there a possibility to import an selection from out an spreadsheet and why is there an difference between creating an pdf for an page that has an pdf page in it and printing it from out scribus

Also we miss functionality to create an nice Table of Contents with sub levels. Of cause we did it by first generating and after that we have styled the page, but in my eyes it is nice to have such an possibility.

Conclusion:

It is an great program and for students and people with little money it is free. Hopefully it stays that way.

Greetings,

Dirk Gerrit Oort

GarryP

Hi Dirk.

The first thing I'd say is not to use the Print function in Scribus. It simply doesn't work well enough - as of version 1.4.3 - as plenty of other posts in this forum have shown. You should print from your PDF reader instead which, as you've seen, produces best results. (Personally I think the Print function should be removed until/unless it has been proven to work properly but that's another issue.)