Add/Delete Page not functioning correctly. My bad I'm sure

Previous topic - Next topic

Kylie Sabra

I've laid out a 39 page document--a magazine.  All has gone well until now. When I add a page after a page, instead it adding it below, it's sticking it out on the side.  It is a new page, but if I then delete the page it messes up the rest of the layout.  Blank pages to the left of EVERY page. 

I should sleep more. 

Screen shots attached

[attachment deleted by admin]

utnik

hi kylie

your first screenshot looks a bit strange:
it's the working space of a file with a single page layout, but the 'insert page' window lists left and right master pages.
did you change the document setting from double pages to single pages?

if you could upload the .sla file somewhere, i would like to take a look at it!

btw. what's your scribus version and operating system?

utnik

Kylie Sabra

As far as I know I've not changed any settings. This is my first time using Scribus.  Here's a link to the doc.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B6WF8NkOyoV4WllGa3lZd1dlQUk/edit?usp=sharing

Thank you for your help.

utnik

hi kylie

i took a closer look at your file – there are at least two different problems:
your images are spread over the double sides. in the logic of the xml-tree they have been positioned on the left pages and overlap on on the right side for another seven inches.
when you inserted the new page '16', the box 'move objects with their page' took all the overlapping images to the right. now the left pages are empty and the overlapping parts run out of the document. with your full spread images, you should always insert or delete an even number of pages – otherwhise it will ruin your layout!
the second problem is: two of your pages are 14" wide, the rest 7" and the masterpages 'normal left' and 'normal right' something around 11.7" (see screenshots...)