Problem with "Get Image" - Imagesize is reduced to ~25% of actual size

Previous topic - Next topic

thrbn

Hi everyone,

I have to admit that I am quite new to Scribus, but a lot of googling and even more try and error did not help :-)

I am currently making the layout for a photo book with pictures from awesome vacation, the available photo book editors did not satisfy my requirements, so I ended up with the following workflow:
* Darktable to pre-process images, mostly available in Raw. (Input: DNG, Output: TIF)
* The Gimp for finalizing a picture before positioning it in the layout with (Input: TIF, Output: TIF)
* Scribus.

Scribus 1.4.2 is running on my Ubuntu 13.10 64 bit machine.

My Scribus document has a resolution of 6449.00 pt wide x 3260.00 pt in height, printed with 300 dpi this results in a format of 57,85 cm x 28,8 cm.
The image I want to add has a resultion 3225 × 1107 pixels, The Gimp is set to 300 dpi.

The problem is, when I add to an image box with the size of 3225 pt x 1107 pt, Scribus "scales the image to framesize". I didn't even notice the problem until I tried to make my first pdf-print: Scribus warned me that some images did not have 300dpi, but actually 72 dpi.

The thing is, when I set the "Actual x/y-DPI" to 300, it shrinks the image to ~1/4 of the actual size (72/300).

Where do I "lose" the image qualitity? I did not find any settings related to image importing in Scribus or in the manual. Maybe I am looking with the wrong search terms, so it would be great, if you'd help me - I am pretty sure I am just missing something obvious :-)

I found a bug report describing a similar problem, but the bug was flagged fixed and was raised 8 years ago :-(

Thank you very much!

Nermander

It seems as if you are stuck on the usual misunderstanding.

A digital image DOES NOT HAVE A DPI. Period. No, don't object!