Scribus Forums

Scribus => Installation and Setup => Windows => Topic started by: daveya on March 17, 2011, 02:13:42 pm

Title: How to get Scribus to locate Ghostscript
Post by: daveya on March 17, 2011, 02:13:42 pm
Hi all,

Having installed Scribus 1.3.3.14 the ReadMe Note advised that I had to download and install Ghostscript. 

Now that I've read the notes in the Ghostscript folder I've remembered that I had to give up on Scribus the last time I installed it, as I couldn't get Ghostscript to install from the DOS prompt. 

If I don't install it, what are the downsides?  What will I NOT be able to do?

Any advice?
Title: Re: How to get Scribus to locate Ghostscript
Post by: daveya on March 17, 2011, 02:15:11 pm
Apologies for misleading thread title.  I couldn't quite remember what the problem was that I'd had with Ghostscript previously, but remembered as I typed the post.  DUH!  :-[
Title: Re: How to get Scribus to locate Ghostscript
Post by: daveya on March 17, 2011, 02:23:07 pm
Running Windows Vista, and the message that I get is:

gxps-871.exe is not recognised as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file

Sigh... Gawd knows what's happening.  Tried shifting the two files (the exe and the XPS doc) into my Owner folder, tried installing just the exe and that seemed to work but now can't see if or where it's installed, tried again with both files and my printer has obliged me with an A4 print of a tiger.

Scribus is still telling me that Ghostscript hasn't been installed. Now I know why I gave up the last time...


 :'( :'( :'(
Title: Re: How to get Scribus to locate Ghostscript
Post by: Admin on March 22, 2011, 09:36:30 pm
Running Windows Vista, and the message that I get is:

gxps-871.exe is not recognised as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file

Sigh... Gawd knows what's happening.  Tried shifting the two files (the exe and the XPS doc) into my Owner folder, tried installing just the exe and that seemed to work but now can't see if or where it's installed, tried again with both files and my printer has obliged me with an A4 print of a tiger.

Scribus is still telling me that Ghostscript hasn't been installed. Now I know why I gave up the last time...


 :'( :'( :'(

Running under Win7 here, so it should be similar - no problems with Scribus 1.4.0rc2. Please install that version as 1.3.3.14 branch is just about to be archived, so it's probably not productive to try figuring out what's happening with it. Additionally, You can install 1.4.0rc2 separately, so it can be used as a test to see what's at fault.
Title: Re: How to get Scribus to locate Ghostscript
Post by: a.l.e on March 24, 2011, 02:00:53 pm

If I don't install it, what are the downsides?  What will I NOT be able to do?

Any advice?

install, run it, try it out.

if it can do what you need you've find the app you need. if not you have the choice to try harder to install ghostscript, to use an operating system where it's easier to install and run applications or to use other applications.

since for most workflows scribus does not need GS, it's a bit silly to spend your time with this issue before you even know if you want to work with scribus.

Title: Re: How to get Scribus to locate Ghostscript
Post by: Nermander on March 25, 2011, 08:48:51 am
Normally, if you install Ghostscript before you install Scribus it will be located automatically (because the Scribus installer will locate it and insert the correct path to the executable in the settings).

So, if you try to wipe the Scribus install and re-install it you might get Ghostscript working.
Title: Re: How to get Scribus to locate Ghostscript
Post by: founder on January 14, 2012, 08:01:05 pm
Normally, if you install Ghostscript before you install Scribus it will be located automatically (because the Scribus installer will locate it and insert the correct path to the executable in the settings).

So, if you try to wipe the Scribus install and re-install it you might get Ghostscript working.

I just wanted to open a new thread, as I discovered this discussion about exactely my Ghostscript problem

Just after I installed Scribus 1.4.rc5,
I installed Ghostscript

Windows lists the installation as

GPL Ghostscript      Artifex Software Inc.     2011-10-17      9.04

In the meantime, I installed
Scribus 1.4.rc6
Scribus 1.4. version where rotate problem solve
Scribus 1.4.0

But I have still the message at starting Scribus "Ghostscript is missing"
Title: Re: How to get Scribus to locate Ghostscript
Post by: a.l.e on January 14, 2012, 08:22:40 pm
reinstalling scribus is -- almost -- never the solution :-)

deleting the scribus is the solution to some problems...

deleting the scribus preferences is the solution to some problems...

but in your case, the best thing you can do is to go to "file > preferences >  external tools" and make sure that the "name of the executable" for the "Post script interpreter" contains the full path to your gs executable (on linux, like on my system, putting the name ("gs") is mostly enough... but not on windows).

good luck!
a.l.en
Title: Re: How to get Scribus to locate Ghostscript
Post by: founder on January 14, 2012, 10:14:21 pm
reinstalling scribus is -- almost -- never the solution :-)

deleting the scribus is the solution to some problems...

but in your case, the best thing you can do is to go to "file > preferences >  external tools" and make sure that the "name of the executable" for the "Post script interpreter" contains the full path to your gs executable (on linux, like on my system, putting the name ("gs") is mostly enough... but not on windows).

good luck!
a.l.en

Thanks! it helped

Scribus defaulted to Ghost32.exe while I had installed Ghost64.ext

Maybe a bug in the installation to look only for the Ghost32.exr