Scribus Forums

Scribus => General Discussion => Topic started by: Petar_MK on October 29, 2016, 12:18:12 am

Title: Scribus 1.4.6 unusable on HiRes laptop monitors
Post by: Petar_MK on October 29, 2016, 12:18:12 am
Hi,
I've just installed Scribus, but I can't use it because it does not supprt HiRes monitors. Icons are too small, rulers are unreadable...
Here is my laptop's specification:

Dell Inspiron 7559 i7
Intel Core i7-6700HQ (3.50 GHz, 6M )
16GB Dual Channel DDR3L 1600MHz (8GBx2)
1TB HDD + 128 GB SSD Hard drive
UHD (3840 x 2160) Truelife LED- Backlit Touch Display
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4GB GDDR5
 
Windows 10 x64
Title: Re: Scribus 1.4.6 unusable on HiRes laptop monitors
Post by: GarryP on October 29, 2016, 02:39:53 pm
Welcome to the forum Petar_MK.

Unfortunately, as you have seen, Scribus currently isn't much good with hi-res displays. Even on 1080p displays the icons are a little bit too small, never mind on 4K.

The problem has been around for a while and there is a solution http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/highdpi.html but it can only be addressed if the developers adapt the code (and I've no idea if it covers Linux which is a significant Scribus user base).

The quick fix that's available seems to have display issues that probably won't be good for a graphical application like Scribus so a lot of the code would need to be properly adapted and tested.

Having said that, if you'd like to help with testing a version that can cope with hi-res I'm sure the developers would like to hear from you (although I've no idea if they have plans for one at the moment).
Title: Re: Scribus 1.4.6 unusable on HiRes laptop monitors
Post by: Petar_MK on October 29, 2016, 05:19:00 pm
I tested it with 1.5.2 version. It is the same problem. Yes, I would like to help/test it in my spare time.  :)
Title: Re: Scribus 1.4.6 unusable on HiRes laptop monitors
Post by: a.l.e on October 30, 2016, 10:04:23 am
i don't think 1.4.x will ever get hdpi (i don't know either if qt 4 has support for it).

1.5.3svn has already some bits in (thanks to the HOST project in oman!).
but it's not there yet.
Title: Re: Scribus 1.4.6 unusable on HiRes laptop monitors
Post by: a.l.e on October 31, 2016, 10:08:08 am
ah, and of course: you're help is welcome!

but you should the install 1.5.3svn.
you can have both 1.5.2 and 1.5.3svn installed on the same machine (and of course also 1.4.x).
Title: Re: Scribus 1.4.6 unusable on HiRes laptop monitors
Post by: Petar_MK on October 31, 2016, 02:59:41 pm
Please, link to 1.5.3svn. I can't find it.
Thank you.
Title: Re: Scribus 1.4.6 unusable on HiRes laptop monitors
Post by: a.l.e on October 31, 2016, 03:42:28 pm
that's easy :-)

https://sourceforge.net/projects/scribus/files/scribus-svn/1.5.3.svn/

https://launchpad.net/~scribus/+archive/ubuntu/ppa

https://bintray.com/probono/AppImages/Scribus

https://wiki.scribus.net/canvas/Scribus_and_Homebrew

and last but not least:

https://github.com/orgs/scribusproject/dashboard

there are probably more such links for specific cases...


as you see, getting the current code is much easier on linux or os x...
it's a bit more cumbersome on windows.
(basically, for windows, you then have to get the latest binary in the first link above)

ciao
a.l.e
Title: Re: Scribus 1.4.6 unusable on HiRes laptop monitors
Post by: Petar_MK on October 31, 2016, 03:49:43 pm
Thank you.
Title: Re: Scribus 1.4.6 unusable on HiRes laptop monitors
Post by: Spratzt on January 09, 2017, 06:58:56 pm
Just registered to make the same comment.

Basically Scribus is completely unusable on any high-res screen.

Reluctantly had to uninstall it.
Title: Re: Scribus 1.4.6 unusable on HiRes laptop monitors
Post by: leafit on August 31, 2017, 08:40:46 pm
Has anyone have tried using this method: http://www.danantonielli.com/adobe-app-scaling-on-high-dpi-displays-fix/ (http://www.danantonielli.com/adobe-app-scaling-on-high-dpi-displays-fix/)

Someone commented on there that it works for Scribus. But when I tried it, I keeping getting an application error.
Title: Re: Scribus 1.4.6 unusable on HiRes laptop monitors
Post by: GarryP on September 01, 2017, 11:57:03 am
Welcome to the forum leafit.

It would be interesting to hear from more people who have tried this, either successfully or unsuccessfully.
My displays are only HD so I have small icons that are a bit difficult to use, but they're still mostly usable so I won't be trying the procedure.

A quick search for your problem brings up a probable issue with 32/64-bit DLL mismatches - e.g. a 32-bit application trying to load 64-bit DLLs - but that's outside of my technical area.
Title: Re: Scribus 1.4.6 unusable on HiRes laptop monitors
Post by: jomei on September 03, 2017, 11:29:33 pm
Thanks a lot for the solution ( http://www.danantonielli.com/adobe-app-scaling-on-high-dpi-displays-fix/ ). It perfectly works for me on my 4k notebook (HP).

@ leafit: Scribus.exe.manifest instead of scribus.exe.manifest?

I am on Windows10 64Bit and Scribus 1.5.2
Title: Re: Scribus 1.4.6 unusable on HiRes laptop monitors
Post by: leafit on September 08, 2017, 04:20:21 pm
Thanks a lot for the solution ( http://www.danantonielli.com/adobe-app-scaling-on-high-dpi-displays-fix/ ). It perfectly works for me on my 4k notebook (HP).

@ leafit: Scribus.exe.manifest instead of scribus.exe.manifest?

I am on Windows10 64Bit and Scribus 1.5.2

Hello jomei,

Still the same error.

Windows10 64Bit and Scribus 1.4.6


@GarryP:Thank you.