Scribus Forums

Scribus => Beginner Talk => Topic started by: Karela on May 22, 2014, 07:09:03 pm

Title: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: Karela on May 22, 2014, 07:09:03 pm
I am trying to import an image and Scribus is changing the image dramatically!

I am importing an file showing grasses (made with a stamp in photoshop) and the first time it showed all the grass as being bright ORANGE (it is green in reality). I went back to the file in photoshop, flattened it, saved it as tiff and re-imported it, only this time it is missing two of the layers- i.e. the bottom half!

Every time I go back to photoshop, the image is exactly as it should be, green and complete.

Importing images should be a no-brainer, something I have done a million times so I am not sure where I am going wrong...

Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: utnik on May 22, 2014, 07:36:59 pm
hi karela

i don't see a way to help without access to your document. (.sla and placed image file)

utnik
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: Karela on May 22, 2014, 07:44:34 pm
Here is the tiff that I imported as well as what it currently looks like in Scribus. It should be a green gradient down to the logos. (which are a bit messy because they are still a work in progress).
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: Karela on May 22, 2014, 08:01:11 pm
can't seem to upload a tiff, so here is a jpeg to show what it should look like!
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: utnik on May 22, 2014, 08:01:56 pm
hi karela

you uploaded the .sla file – but none of the images…

utnik

edit: with the .jpg file it looks ok. see screenshot!
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: Karela on May 22, 2014, 08:04:28 pm
Our replies must have crossed! Sorry, it took me a while to figure out that I couldn't upload the actual image because it was a .tiff.
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: utnik on May 22, 2014, 08:14:25 pm
you could upload .tiff files as .zip archives…

utnik
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: Karela on May 22, 2014, 08:29:09 pm
Is it clear from the jpeg or would it be better to upload the tiff as a zip?
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: utnik on May 22, 2014, 08:36:36 pm
hi karela

take a look at my screenshot and tell me what's wrong. i don't see anything unusual (except of the fact that the .jpg comes with a resolution as low as 34 ppi…)

utnik
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: Karela on May 22, 2014, 08:52:14 pm
Utnik, your screenshot is beautiful....but does it look anything like what you see in my .sla file?

The low resolution is because before I noticed that it was not possible to upload .tiffs I thought that the problem was that my file was too large, so I made it very low resolution.
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: utnik on May 22, 2014, 08:57:09 pm
this is a screenshot of your .sla file with the placed (and enlarged) .jpg file – i don't have any of the other images…

for a real check of the issue you could upload the whole project ('file' → 'collect for output' then compress the whole folder to a .zip file…)

utnik
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: Karela on May 22, 2014, 10:24:36 pm
Collected for output and zipped. I took off the logos because they made it too heavy.
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: utnik on May 22, 2014, 10:34:53 pm
hi karela

still no other problem than the low resolution. at least i'm not able to spot it – sorry!

utnik
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: Karela on May 22, 2014, 10:46:55 pm
Utnik, on the screen shot that you sent before with the jpeg and the one you sent now there is a huge difference between the two files- the one with the jpeg shows the image accurately and the one with the tiff has the bottom layers missing (the solid green gradient).

Here is the compressed tiff I am trying to import.
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: utnik on May 22, 2014, 11:05:20 pm
hi karela

…there is a huge difference between the two files…
…the one with the tiff has the bottom layers missing (the solid green gradient).
yes, there is a difference. but it's your file…
even in gimp or photoshop i can't find different layers, but an alpha channel wich cuts the bottom part – what do you expect?

(the screenshot shows photoshop cs4.)

utnik
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: Karela on May 23, 2014, 06:41:42 am
I am not so familiar on how alpha channels work, I followed an online tutorial for smoothing edges and this was one of the directions (the making of an alpha channel, not the cutting off the bottom part of the image :)).

The gradient layer is/was on top of the other ones, though (I flattened the image when I saved it as a tiff) and the image shows the gradient layer.

What would my options be?

1) Use the jpeg file since it shows the gradient?
2) Add a gradient in Scribus?
3) Attempt to expand the alpha channel to include the bottom half?
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: utnik on May 23, 2014, 09:23:39 am
hi karela

editing the alpha channel is a good option.
as long as it's the background of your file, you could delete the alpha channel – you don't really need it.

utnik
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: Nermander on May 23, 2014, 10:58:23 am
The reason the JPEG works is that JPEG don't support transparency (and alpha channel is transparency).

So the JPEG only contains, R, G and B, while the TIFF contains R, G, B and A.


A very good tips when something looks different in two programs: Try with a third program!
Title: Re: images importing with changes to colour and layers
Post by: Karela on May 27, 2014, 06:27:20 pm
Alpha channel deleted and problem solved. Thanks so much for your help!