Greeting card layout/template

Previous topic - Next topic

green_chaaa

Hi. I'm new to Scribus, but am very excited about using it. It's so useful.. I've used it to lay-out my English project poster, and create a poster for a community event. This time, I want to do something different.

Mothers' Day is coming up, and I want to make a greeting card. Specifically, I want to make a card from a letter-sized piece of paper folded into four parts. If you lay it out, the pages from the top left, clockwise, are the front, back, second interior, and first interior pages.

I remember that with Microsoft Publisher, which my school has but I don't, there were templates that could be used to create a greeting card. Scribus, I don't think, has one. I've tried looking for one too. I've decided to create my own template, but I'll need some guidance. Specifically to change the orientation of stuff on top of the page. I don't want to keep on rotating stuff.

Any help would be appreciated.

Nermander

I really think is could be easier to design it as four separate pages and use some impositioning software to put them together. (I'd use Multivalent, because I'm used to it.)

You might also be able to design everything the correct way and then group and rotate the "pages" that shall be upside down.

Or, maybe even use Scribus for the imposition. Create it as four separate pages (1/4 of the final page size), export to PDF, split into one PDF per page, create a new Scribus document, import the pages into rotated image frames, export to final PDF.

green_chaaa

Thanks. If I have any questions, I'll ask.

green_chaaa

Actually, now that I've printed out a computerized Father's Day card (I didn't have the time to make one for Mother's Day), I have some questions. I used Adobe Reader X to print out my PDF document into a booklet - the trouble is that it would only allow me to print out 2 pages at a time.