Newbie questions about formatting graphics onto page

Previous topic - Next topic

tmt53

Hi everyone,

I'm rather new to this. I was wondering if someone could tell me what I'm doing wrong. I want this barcode graphic formatted at the bottom of the page with a page number (barcode.jpg). When I do a page preview, it looks good. No problem. When I actually print the document, there's a gap (presumably a margin? I've tried playing around with it, but can't find how to make it better...see barcode1.jpg). I want the barcode to be at the very bottom of the page without a gap. I've read stuff on bleeds/margins, and I think I'm just confusing myself, so I thought I'd try here.

Thanks for all your help.

[attachment deleted by admin]

utnik

hi tmt53

how did you generate this .jpg files?

• with 'file' → 'export' → 'save as image' it works (at least on my system...)
  • by printing via a document writer you may get random results
  • when you generate a .pdf file (the standard procedure) it depends on the export adyustments...
i would place extend the barcode to the limit of the bleed area (perhaps extending it a little bit) and export the page as .pdf (for printing on the own office printer without the bleeds – but mine wont print to the edges, for professional printing with the settings of my print shop...)

utnik

tmt53

I should clarify that I don't intend to export to .jpg for the final document, it was just so you could see my examples.

I want to export to .pdf. It's going to be a user guide (downloadable from the internet), so people can print them out on their home printers. Will there always be an inconsistency between .pdf and printing? Or is there some way to close that gap margin?

GarryP

Personally I would avoid putting anything near the edge of a page if you have no way of knowing whether the printer being used can print to the edge of the page.