Author Topic: Is there a maximum image size?  (Read 3054 times)

RussellCollier

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Is there a maximum image size?
« on: August 24, 2012, 05:10:03 pm »
Good morning. I am building a report for a client using images extracted from PDFs they supply. The extracted images are mostly at 600 DPI, with a few at much higher resolution (1800 DPI) and a few at lower resolution. I have about 60 of them to insert, and am about 3/4 finished.

I noticed yesterday that quite suddenly, none of my images were showing on-screen, just the frame they sit inside. When I examine the frame, it tells me the image is missing. I use Manage Images function to find them again, but this does not seem to work. The frame remains empty.

After many hours trying things out, I wondered if Scribus has an upper limit for file size it can import. I experimented with reducing the file size of several of the larger images, reducing them to 300 DPI. To my surprise, suddenly, I could again see most of the other images, though not all of them.

Does Scribus have an upper limit, or maximum image size it can work with?

I am using Scribus 1.4.1 on a very new Mac Pro (Retina) with 16 GB RAM.

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1086
  • Country: 00
  • Karma: 17
    • the graphics lab
Re: Is there a maximum image size?
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2012, 08:30:58 am »
no, i don't think that there is a hard limit for it...

... but you'd really better resize the images in a bitmap editor before loading them into scribus.
it's useless to have a 600 DPI image if your printer can only print at 150 DPI...

however, for the empty frames: i wonder if you are not seeing the top left corner... which may be white....

RussellCollier

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Is there a maximum image size?
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2012, 09:05:25 am »
I think there must be a hard limit, based on my experiences. I have downsized my images systematically, and this results every time in previously unviewable images suddenly coming into view.

I used GIMP to resize some of them. Most of them I just used Mac's Preview to choose a 150 PPI exporting. 300 PPI proved to be too much to Scribus, and trying to import immediately resulted in another blank frame. I have opted for less PPI in favour of getting the job done so I can get paid.

That crack about "useless to have a 600 DPI image" was not helpful, as my client has access to professional printers. Professional, not your corner store offering a laser jet for hire. Sorry if that seems harsh, but you need to know, not helpful to assume common limits.

No white upper left corners, just a blank image frame with filename listed inside. Reducing the image resolution has immediate results.

Thanks. I appreciate your taking the time to reply.

Best,
Russell

no, i don't think that there is a hard limit for it...

... but you'd really better resize the images in a bitmap editor before loading them into scribus.
it's useless to have a 600 DPI image if your printer can only print at 150 DPI...

however, for the empty frames: i wonder if you are not seeing the top left corner... which may be white....

Nermander

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1095
  • Karma: 15
Re: Is there a maximum image size?
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2012, 01:03:22 pm »
There still are not many professional printers that print more than 300 PPI. Your avarage glossy fashion magazine will probably be less than 200 PPI.

RussellCollier

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
  • Scribus User
Re: Is there a maximum image size?
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2012, 06:08:38 pm »
Thanks for the information about printers. I did not know that. However, I don't think many printers in my area know that either. Most, if not all, will ask for hi-resolution imagery in at least 300 DPI, not the same thing as 300 PPI, I am finding out.

So, does anybody know if there is an effective maximum size of file, or resolution of picture, before Scribus will not show it? I have been told I may not have enough RAM to run Scribus properly, or at least not with many pictures. I have a very new Macbook Pro (Retina) with 16 Gigabytes RAM, lots of hard disk space. Is this simply too small a laptop to run Scribus? I thought 16 GB was pretty good, but I could be wrong.

Reducing the resolution of the PNG file does seem to make a difference. I reduce from 600 DPI to 150 DPI, and quite suddenly the pics start appearing again. The actual file sizes range from 1 or 2 Mb on the small size at 150 DPI to 21 MB on the large size at 600 DPI.  I am guessing somewhere between the small and the large files there is an optimum I should aim for. Does anybody know how to identify optimal file size and resolution for Scribus?

My thanks for your time.
Russell Collier

toyotadesigner

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: es
  • Karma: 0
  • Active Scribus Mac User
Re: Is there a maximum image size?
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2012, 11:02:35 am »
I have designed several books, brochures and flyers with huge images (some of them 120 MegaPixels), because I was too lazy to scale them down. The only thing that happened was that Scribus reacted a bit slower, and it needed a really long time to load the documents. But I've never experienced and empty frames. Just specified a max. resolution of 300 dpi in the PDF export and got great results.

I am working on a Mac Core Duo 3.01 with only 4 GB RAM... so your dream machine is anything but too small for Scribus!

 

palmate