Trying to change document page size from A4 to 8.5"x11"

Previous topic - Next topic

atmartin50

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to Scribus but I have been using the software to create a large document for school over the past couple of months. It's a great program and I've had fun learning it.

However, I've just discovered my first mistake, and I think it's a big one. I chose A4 as the document size when I created it, and I never switched this to 8.5"x11". Now the document is finished, it's 36 pages long, and it's two days before printing. The formatting was painstaking at times, and when I try using Page-Manage Page Properties and then changing to 8.5"x11", things get out of whack. Yet something must be done, because a test print results in my page numbers and top margin banners getting cut out.

Could someone recommend a fix, please? Let me know if I need to include screenshots, in case I did not explain things clearly.

Many thanks!

Aaron

John_Jason_Jordan

Here is what I would do:

1) With the document and the Scrapbook open, select all items on each page and paste into the Scrapbook, giving each Scrapbook item a name with an incremental number according to the page, like Page-1, Page-2, etc.

2) Close the document and create a new document of the same number of pages, but be sure to specify 8.5 x 11 as the page size. When defining the document set the margins to the margins of your A4 document, plus or minus the difference in page size. The idea is to create an area inside the margins that is the same size as your objects on each page of the original document.

3) Using the Scrapbook, drag each page onto the corresponding page in the new document, placing within the margins of the new document. As you drag the page contents out of the Scrapbook they will all still be selected, so it should be easy to position them as a group.