Scribusoid

Author Topic: Underlining  (Read 3872 times)

Wena

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: 0
Underlining
« on: March 26, 2012, 09:58:48 pm »

Is there a way in Scribus where we can create a double line, one thin and another thicker.

It is for under scoring a peace of text.

If I was to use an underline then it would be to close to some letters like “y” and “g”. I have produced something like it as a photo in Gimp but the print quality is not good.

Any ideas??

Wena D Parry

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1881
  • Karma: 26
    • the graphics lab
Re: Underlining
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2012, 10:05:44 pm »
wena, can you please show an image of what you mean?

utnik

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1276
  • Karma: 14
Re: Underlining
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2012, 10:32:20 pm »
hi wena

i don't know a scribus style for a double underline. but you can define the line width and the distance between text and line.
in 'properties' → 'text' → 'color & effects' you can push the underline button for standard underline or hold the button till two option fields appear.
play a little bit with position and width – maybe it solves your problem – at least partially…

utnik

Wena

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: 0
Re: Underlining
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2012, 11:31:52 pm »
a.l.e
I have made one up in Gimp with graphics and text.

Wena

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
  • Karma: 0
Re: Underlining
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2012, 12:12:22 pm »
Sorry utnik your suggestion do not work, I am still looking to see how we can do that.

However, as there is now and example with this thread we might get an answer to my question.

Wena

Mike

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Underlining
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2012, 12:28:12 am »
If the line will have always the same width:
  • Create two lines as you need.
  • Group them (Ctrl+G).
  • Ctrl+C, double click into text frame under headline, Ctrl+V.
  • Create Pragagraph Style "Line".
  • Apply that style for this line via Story Editor or Properties window.
  • Set up this style (baseline offset, space above or bellow, align).
« Last Edit: April 09, 2012, 12:01:51 pm by Mike »