Some questions about my Typographic_grid_wizard script

Previous topic - Next topic

rafferty

Hello,

I made the the typographic_grid_wizard script in annex. The python script is working, but I have the following questions:
1) In line 100 I use the command scribus.setMargins(). It updates the margin values on the active page, but does not change the displayed margin guides on that page (only after manually clicking 'Apply changes to all pages' in the Document Setup-menu it changes). Can this be done by scripting or have I missed something (I am a beginner in programming)?
2) Is there a way to perform the menu command View -> Text frames -> Show baseline grid by scripting?

Rafferty

[attachment deleted by admin]

a.l.e

a couple of weeks ago i've also written a typographic grid script ... i will be glad to review yours very soon : - )

rafferty

After some other testing I found a mistake in my script (nothing to do with my question above):
line 87 shoud be "previousGuide = marginLeft*columnUnitPt" in stead of "previousGuide = marginTop*columnUnitPt".

a.l.e

first a review of the solution i know of... just for fun : - )

there is a script by ugajin that sets one guide per baseline (if i read it correctly):

https://github.com/aoloe/scribus-script-repository/blob/master/typographic-grid/tmp/setBaselineGuides.py

there is an older script of mine asking for the number of columns and the text size and calculates the number of rows and the line height::

https://github.com/aoloe/scribus-script-repository/tree/master/typographic-grid

i have not touched it for some times now, and i don't know if it really works. but, at the end, you will see some notes that hint to the fact that it's not possible yet to create row and column guides from the scripter.

i have a newer script i wrote more recently, and which runs outside of scribus

- it does not use (yet) the scribus scripter. plain python.
  - it needs to know
    - the size inside of the margins
    - the number of rows