Scribusoid

Author Topic: Image cropping script or croppping on export  (Read 2085 times)

alfito

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Image cropping script or croppping on export
« on: November 30, 2011, 07:43:24 pm »
Hi all,

I wonder if someone has tryied the script "Image crop, resize and CMYK conversion" published on the wiki http://wiki.scribus.net/canvas/Image_crop,_resize_and_CMYK_conversion._Save_and_reload_in_TIFF_format on Scribus 1.4 rc.

If not, I would like to know some approach to the problem of full images added to pdf although maybe only a part is showed on the image frames. I think there is an Indesign option for that on pdf export. Maybe another tool to do the trick after exporting?

Regards.

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1438
  • Karma: 19
    • the graphics lab
Re: Image cropping script or croppping on export
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2011, 09:21:27 am »
scribus does not have such an option, yet.

but you're welcome to try the script and give feedback and ideas for tweaking...

ciao
a.l.e

alfito

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Image cropping script or croppping on export
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2011, 12:38:18 pm »
I've been playing around with it, but I am not a programmer so I don't think I can get it working. Script freezes while cropping. Setting the crop data manually on the script allows exporting a tiff image but nothing else, it freezes ans step forward.
I would test everything needed, but... can't do much more..
I think  it is a really must have option...

Thanks.

Nermander

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1191
  • Karma: 15
Re: Image cropping script or croppping on export
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2011, 01:11:24 pm »
What operating system are you using? Did you notice this:

Quote
Caveat: PIL currently freeze Scribus in Ubuntu 10, if run as menu script, due Ubuntu bug. Run OK in Scripter console (F9 keystroke) and in Windows XP or Wine.

alfito

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Image cropping script or croppping on export
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2011, 01:14:55 pm »
Yes, I checked that.
Running Ubuntu I used the console.
Dont have an XP to check, tryied Win7 with same results. Maybe anyone can try with xp?