Is a Book 135x120 mm. something for scribus?

Previous topic - Next topic

Erix

I'm a Retired Typographer and Designer who has worked in QuarkXPress for many years (which I no longer have access to). Now I want to investigate whether Scribus can help me produce a book 135x210 mm, mainly with one font (straight and italics) + chapter headings and no illustrations.

Workflow: The author writes script in Ms Word with Times New Roman. I am proofreading and linguisticly editing continuously and checking correct typography. The text is then transferred as a whole to me in one document (word). Without a problem, I open the document in LibreOffice and save as odt. All text formatting is included in LibreOffice. My intention is now to be able to flow the text in its entirety to page templates in Scribus. Times New Roman in script will be replaced by Book Antiqua or similar. I have understood that the selected font must contain genuine Italic /Bold. This is what I would have done in, for example, QuarkXPress.

I have only used Scribus for a few days but already found some possible problems described as lost formatting between LibreOffice and Scribus. Therefore, I have described the workflow in its entirety.

As I described, it is important in my workflow to keep the formatting already in detail in the author's script (Word > LibreOffice (odt) > Scribus. LibreOffice saved as odt has been described by users as the correct way to keep the formatting). This has failed for me in various attempts. What am I doing wrong?

Returns with other questions separately. E.g. I have not found any command for indentation on the first line in a paragraph, even when I type a text directly in Scribus. A blanc line in manuscript is almost always replaced by square indentation.
Such things ...

Best regards and thanks for answers and comments.

dragonfly