Author Topic: Parallel text for a bilingual book  (Read 72 times)

princemoga

• Scribus User
Parallel text for a bilingual book
« on: September 11, 2018, 09:05:27 pm »
Hi. I'm new to formatting and editing.

I have a question, and I've looked everywhere, in this forum, in the subreddit, all across Google, and I haven't found the answer to my question. It should be an easy one:

I'm translating a book and I want to format it like a typical academic translation, with the original text on the right -even pages- and the translated text on the left -odd pages-. It's supposed to be simple enough, but I'm losing my mind over trying to figure it out. Does anybody know how to do this?

Thank you very much in advance.

a.l.e

• Global Moderator
    • the graphics lab
Re: Parallel text for a bilingual book
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2018, 10:03:45 am »
please, can we stop this political correcct madness with the list of places you've looked everywhere?
really, you've looked all across the google? i mean, they have information to keep you busy for the next couple milions of years...

you have a question, ask it!

now, about the topic.
thre is no way in scribus for syncing two flows of text.
but you can, of course, but a chain of the in english on the odd pages and a chain of text in french on the even pages.
you will probably have to break the chains from time to time, to sync the two flows.

does it help?

jack_cat

• Scribus User
Re: Parallel text for a bilingual book
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2018, 06:28:14 pm »