Having frustrating time Editing & Changing Text - please help

Previous topic - Next topic

Tam

Hi

I'm new to Scribus, ( though have used a variety of DTP tools & Graphics Applications for 20 plus years. I have installed Scribus today, from here https://sourceforge.net/projects/scribus/files/scribus/1.4.7/ ( 64 Bit vers)  and Ghostscript.

I have a number of projects I need to 'prepare for press', so I decided to give it a try, having read so many great reviews online. However unfortunately I am having a number of crazy issues which may or may not be 'bugs', trying to do a few basic things including altering the Page Setup, AddingText/Editing Text & the Story Editor,

I've spent a long time this afternoon fiddling with this trying to get it to work. After much trial and error, and googling I came to this forum and read a number of people had had the same frustrations with the Story Editor, and if I understood correctly  that the 'Story Editor' is not designed to be used for 'editing text' in the way someone might at first expect, when trying to get the various options within it's tools ( none of which seemed to work)  .

It also seems, that most Scribus users don't useit  to 'edit' text. It seems the popular way is to double click on the text frame to edit the or use the properties box.

I've been playing with that and strangely sometimes it works perfectly others well basically it does NOT do anything.. As a result I find myself doing exactly the same steps multiple times, in order to try and get the thing to work.

Re page, as crazy as it sounds I am trying to get landscape . I am trying 'File/Document Setup/Orientation Landscape'

I have tried
clicking on OK and nothing happens - my page does not change from portrait
clicking on Apply and nothing happens

So I can try to ascertain whether this is bug related, PLEASE could someone tell me the following ridiculously simple steps, 'step by step' ..I will follow these to the letter