WARNINGS, CAUTIONS & NOTES (WCA)

Previous topic - Next topic

Johny_Rocket

I am a tech data writer for a lighting company. I have been bringing their instruction sheets up to speed. Each sheet will have one or a multitude of WCA statements. For example:
WARNING
THIS FIXTURE IS NOT SUITABLE FOR OUTDOOR INSTALLATION. INSTALLATION OF THIS FIXTURE
OUTDOORS WILL INCREASE RISK OF ELECTRIC SHOCK AND PERSONAL INJURY.
They all have a slightly different orientation from the instructional text. In addition many of them are applicable to multiple installation instructions. My question is as follows. Should I make them each their own text box [center oriented] and, if I do that, is there a way to collect them in a central repository or should I make a WCA document where I can copy and paste them into other documents as necessary.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Cheers

Jonathan

a.l.e

yes, you should probable a frame for the warning.

and if you put the frames in the scrapbook (you can have multiple scrapbook... they are directories...) you can them pull the warnings from there...

Johny_Rocket

Karma,
Thank you very much. What you say makes perfect sense.

Anyone else have something different?

dragonfly

From my current workflow I am evolving I would use an external editor in a toolchain with Scribus as the last link in the chain.

Atom is my choice. https://atom.io/

Write your warnings posters as separate files with extension *.md

You can add conventional css styles.

You can concatenate markdown files where needed. Use the @import command to import files or objects.

Use Markdown Preview Enhanced package in Atom.

Export as image or pdf and import into Scribus frame.

There is a learning curve in understanding how to use Atom and markdown with Scribus. I plan to add a repository although so far Atom package Project Manager is good for different projects.

All of this this assumes that you are willing to experiment with a toolchain.