Scribus workflow for PDF and ePub Output

Previous topic - Next topic

Jim

Generally in self-publishing authors are expected to supply a PDF for the print version of their book and an ePub file for the ebook version of their book.

Since Scribus can not be used to produce an ePub file, I would like to know how authors here handle that part of their workflow.

For my part I am creating a photobook. While I do have a copy of Adobe Indesign and could use that, it seems to me that by using Scribus I can be more productive more quickly (the software just makes sense to me).

But - the single stumbling block is that Scribus can not produce an epub file.

I would love to hear how others handle this shortcoming.

Thanks, Jim.

dragonfly

First, I am just a user and developer (on Ubuntu 16.04) bouncing around some ideas for integrating Scribus in a project publication toolchain. Reading the Adobe discussion forums today I still see users asking for a Linux port but that is not forthcoming.

There are some threads in this Scribus forum discussing ePub (just search) and here is a recent one.

http://forums.scribus.net/index.php/topic,2508.msg13859.html#msg13859

My personal approach is to go back a few steps in the workflow and provide content which can be piped to Scribus (for quality printing), and/or to the web. This workflow works for me.

Another recent (rather long) thread discusses the example of compiling and publishing music books - http://forums.scribus.net/index.php/topic,3042.0.html.

If you are game for experimenting read here. Pandoc.

https://pandoc.org/epub.html

I am using Atom as my open source front end tool which through added package Markdown Preview Enhanced can pre-process markdown (including images) and generate content as assets for import by Scribus, and importantly also export to ePub all within the same workflow.

Jim

Hi Dragonfly,