Scribusoid

Author Topic: Backing Up Reminder  (Read 531 times)

LesCM19

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 1
  • Scribus User
Backing Up Reminder
« on: March 28, 2018, 10:32:45 am »
Make sure the automatic backup is enabled.
Got some weird file fault and the .sla file is about a third the size it should be.

I stopped making stage by stage backups when I got confident in my ability in not making accidental page formatting changes that I didn't know how to reverse but fortunately I did try something different a couple of weeks ago so have that save point to fall back on.

Now I have to work out which edits I did  ;D
cheers

Les

LesCM19

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 1
  • Scribus User
Re: Backing Up Reminder
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2018, 11:10:45 am »
When saving & autosaving, make sure the save progress bar bottom right doesn't stop partway before clearing. Seems to be an indication of corrupted saves, which I am still getting occasionally.

Manual saves that stop at 36% before progress bar clears "always" get corrupted/partially saved; progress bar stopping at 56% seem OK  ???
Autosaves can go all the way to 100% on the progress bar but doesn't seem to mean they saved properly.

Will try to pin down factors involved but I know it started after I began embedding images...until then I am checking saved file size every time as an indicator.  ???
« Last Edit: March 29, 2018, 11:18:48 am by LesCM19 »
cheers

Les

a.l.e

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1524
  • Karma: 22
    • the graphics lab
Re: Backing Up Reminder
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2018, 11:47:47 am »
i haven't had a broken file for a long time... so i'm wondering what you are doing differently.

in the past, what i've learned to do was: if you get a strange state when undoing, just close the file without saving it.
and redo what i had lost.
(a better way, could be to do a copy of the .sla in the filemanager before saving and then save... if you're lucky the save process worked well... if not you have the copy which should be the same as if you did not save at all...)